< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Dr Murray Power to be Honoured at Cricket Ireland Awards

Richard Johnson (ncu) on the right and Mark Mckelvey, belfast ceo of ulster bank
Richard Johnson (ncu) on the right and Mark Mckelvey, belfast ceo of ulster bank
©Cricket Ireland

Dr Murray Power will be recognised with a Special Award - Outstanding Contribution and Service to Irish Cricket , in honour of John Wright - at the 2018 Turkish Airlines Cricket Ireland Awards on Friday 2 November 2018.

Aideen Rice, President of Cricket Ireland, said:

“Dr Murray Power has for many years now made an outstanding contribution to Irish Cricket, and particularly to cricket in Northern Ireland.”

“A former Chairman of the Irish Cricket Union and former President of Cricket Ireland, Murray serves with distinction as the Cricket Ireland Company Secretary, a member of the Finance Committee as well as helping to guide the transition of disciplinary procedures in the sport. He also led the successful process that saw the old Irish Cricket Union’s incorporation process to become a limited company.”

“But for many, it is his tireless and long-term commitment to the game at a grass-roots level that is most noteworthy.”

“Murray leads on the organisation of the Schools Committee to deliver the Schools’ competitions programme for all age categories annually across Northern Irish schools. He also leads on the delivery and organisation of the annual Schools tour which sees him arrange travel, accommodation and opposition as well as lead on the organisation of the selection process.”

“In addition, he commits much of his time to Ulster and Irish Universities cricket throughout the year with an important role in supporting the organisation of the Irish Universities indoor and outdoor annual competitions. His drive to ensure these competitions continue to be delivered throughout Ireland ensures that a valuable part of the cricket participation structures remains integral to the life of university students.”

“Within the Northern Cricket Union, Murray is the registered Company Secretary, and similar to his work at Cricket Ireland-level, he played an instrumental role in the Union’s incorporation process to become a limited company as well as the Union securing Charitable Status which sees many benefits for the Union’s operations now too. His governance expertise has meant he has been a valuable volunteer when it comes to ensuring compliance with legislation for company law as well as charity law.”

“If that wasn’t enough, Murray can regularly be seen officiating at many cricket matches throughout the season as a scorer for provincial school and club events, Provincial events as well as international matches, when required.”

“Murray’s contribution continues to grow and his passion for cricket is clearly still evident even after so many years involved in the game and we are delighted to be able to recognise this on Friday.”

The Cricket Ireland Awards will be held on Friday 2 November 2018. Photos from the evening and real-time updates will be posted on the Cricket Ireland Twitter account on the day.

The full nominees list for Awards is as follows:

Test Triangle Male Youth International Player of the Year

  *  Neil Rock
  *  Harry Tector
  *  Tim Tector

Devenish Nutrition Female Youth International Player of the Year

  *  Aisling Byrne
  *  Louise Little
  *  Leah Paul

Cricketshop.ie Groundsman of the Year

  *  Philip McCormick
  *  Dale McDonough
  *  Noel McGinnis

Oasis Volunteer of the Year

  *  The Clinton Family, The Hills Cricket Club Leinster
  *  Harry Rutherford, Bready Cricket Club North West
  *  Chris Thomas, Limerick Cricket Club Munster

Shapoorji Pallonji Male Academy Player of the Year

  *  Tyrone Kane
  *  James McCollum
  *  Harry Tector

Shapoorji Pallonji Female Academy Player of the Year

  *  Cara Murray
  *  Lara Maritz
  *  Rebecca Stokell

Frontline Security Official of the Year

  *  Gary Blair
  *  Mary McElwee
  *  Mary Waldron

Toyota Super 3s Player of the Year

  *  Ceclia Joyce
  *  Isobel Joyce
  *  Lara Maritz

O’Neills Male Club Player of the Year

  *  John Anderson
  *  Adam Dennison
  *  Murtaza Sidiqi

O’Neills Female Club Player of the Year

  *  Mollie Devine
  *  Isobel Joyce
  *  Nicky Niblock

Tildenet Club of the Year

  *  Bready CC
  *  Templepatrick CC
  *  Waringstown CC

Hanley Energy Men’s Inter-Provincial Player of the Year

  *  Andrew Balbirnie
  *  George Dockrell
  *  William Porterfield

Sunday Independent Aengus Fanning International Emerging Player of the Year

  *  Josh Little
  *  Una Raymond-Hoey
  *  Rebecca Stokell

Hanley Energy Women’s International Player of the Year

  *  Laura Delany
  *  Cecelia Joyce
  *  Gaby Lewis

Turkish Airlines Men’s International Player of the Year

  *  Tim Murtagh
  *  Boyd Rankin
  *  Paul Stirling

The evening will also see a number of Special Awards given to:

  *  Clear Treasury Contribution to Irish Coaching
  *  Tildenet Emerging Club of the Year
  *  Cricket Writers of Ireland Hall of Fame Award

© Cricket World 2018