Dramatic Tie Puts South Africa Through, West Indies Depart


South Africa 230-6 (Ingram 73) tied with
West Indies 190-6 (Samuels 48)
ICC Champions Trophy Group B, Cardiff
Scorecard | VIdeo Report
Report by John Pennington

West Indies were left to rue the extraordinarily bad timing of Kieron Pollard losing his wicket as they ended up sharing a tie with South Africa that knocked them out of the ICC Champions Trophy 2013.

In dry conditions following a day of patchy rain, while chasing 231 to win in 31 overs, and with his side just ahead on the Duckworth/Lewis method, Pollard was caught by Dale Steyn off Ryan McLaren, leaving the scores level when the players left the field under heavy rain moments after his departure.

South Africa had earlier made 230 for six with Colin Ingram top scoring with 73 and with both sides taking a point apiece, they progress due to their superior net run-rate.

Ingram got the Proteas off to a belting start, dominating an 80-run partnership with Hashim Amla (23) for the first wicket, and the runs continued to flow as the middle order carried on from where he had left off.

AB de Villiers made 37 in 26 balls, Faf du Plessis 35 in 32 and David Miller added 38 in 29 balls with some lusty hitting including three sixes.

Dwayne Bravo picked up two wickets for West Indies with Ravi Rampaul, Marlon Samuels and Kieron Pollard taking one apiece.

The run chase didn't get off to the best of starts with Johnson Charles making 16 in 26 balls and Chris Gayle appearing to be struggling with some sort of injury, although not one that stopped him hitting 36 in 27 deliveries.

Just prior to the first rain break, which came at 15 overs, Devon Smith (30) was trapped in front by Robin Peterson to put West Indies behind.

Perhaps the break galvanised them as Samuels came out afterwards, overcoming a slow start to smear the bowling to all parts in thrashing 48 in 38 deliveries with six fours and two sixes. It was a brilliant knock, and one which turned the game back towards South Africa but he will rue his decision to go for one more big shot off Steyn and losing his middle stump.

Darren Bravo made 12 in seven balls before he was run out by the length of a pitch following a huge mix-up with Samuels but even after Samuels fell, West Indies continued to look the more likely victors.

Dwayne Bravo was unbeaten on eight in seven balls and Pollard, having watched much of Samuels' onslaught from the other end, hit 28 in 23 balls, with five fours, before, with West Indies three runs to the good on the Duckworth/Lewis method, he took on McLaren one more, fateful, time.

Failing to connect properly, the ball went high instead of far and as Steyn hung on, the rain set in and West Indies lost their grip on qualification.

© Cricket World 2013


CT 2013 Fixtures

Fixtures & Results

6th June: India v South Africa, Cardiff
IND 331-7 beat RSA 305 by 26 runs: Report
7th June: Pakistan v West Indies, London
WIN 172-8 beat PAK 170 by 2 wickets: Report
8th June: England v Australia, Birmingham
ENG 269-6 beat AUS 221-9 by 48 runs: Report
9th June: New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Cardiff
NZL 139-9 beat SRI 138 by 1 wicket: Report
10th June: Pakistan v South Africa, Birmingham
RSA 234-9 beat PAK 167 by 67 runs: Report
11th June: India v West Indies, London
IND 236-2 beat WIN 233-9 by 8 wickets: Report
12th June: Australia v New Zealand, Birmingham
AUS 243-8 v NZL 51-2 - match abandoned: Report
13th June: England v Sri Lanka, The Oval
SRI 297-3 beat ENG 293-7 by 7 wickets: Report
15th June: India v Pakistan, Birmingham
IND 102-2 beat PAK 165 by 8 wickets: Report
16th June: England v New Zealand, Cardiff
ENG 169 beat NZL 159-8 by 10 runs: Report
17th June: Australia v Sri Lanka, London
SRI 253-8 beat AUS 233 by 20 runs: Report
19th June: Semi-Final, London
ENG 179-3 beat RSA 175 by 7 wickets: Report
20th June: Semi-Final, Cardiff
IND 182-2 beat SRI 181-8 by 8 wickets: Report
23rd June: Final, Birmingham
IND 129-7 beat ENG 124-8 by 5 runs: Report

Champions Trophy History

Previous Winners

1998: South Africa
2000: New Zealand
2002: India/Sri Lanka
2004: West Indies
2006: Australia
2009: Australia