Driffield Win Cup To Deny York Double

Driffield are the 2013 ECB Yorkshrie League KO Cup champions
©Cricket World

York were denied a league and cup double when Driffield retained the ECB Yorkshire League KO Cup by beating them by six wickets in the final.

York are renowned for their high scoring in league matches so it was a surprise to see them slide to 96 for six after winning the toss and deciding to bat.

Danny Broumpton took three of the first six wickets to fall while wicket keeper Mark Goddard held three catches.

Simon Lambert and Jake Murphy began the recovery, adding 76 for the seventh wicket and, when Murphy was out for 37, Lambert then put on 49 with leg-spinner Tom Pringle before he was out for 88, including eight fours and three sixes. It was a fine innings that earned Lambert the man of the match award and York reached 227 for nine in their 45 overs.

Driffield made a good start against a York attack, lacking the league’s leading wicket taker Dan Woods, and Abid Ali (30) and Mark Clarkson (26) took part in a half-century opening partnership.

Clarkson and Ben Kohler-Cadmore (29) then added 41 for the second wicket before the Drury cousins, George and Sam put them on their winning course with a fourth wicket stand of 92.

George Drury was out for 57 before Sam Drury (53 not out) and Broumpton (21 not out) guided Driffield to their target in 36.1 overs.

© Cricket World 2013

Nominate a Performance of the Week
Become a Profiled Club
Find a Fixture