Durham Name Squad To Take On MCC

Durham players celebrate
Durham won the LV= County Championship in 2013 and will play the MCC in Abu Dhabi next week
©REUTERS / Action Images

Durham have named a 16-man squad which will travel to Abu Dhabi to play the MCC in the traditional curtain-raiser to the English domestic season.

The game begins on 23rd March and the squad will fly out on 19th March.

The list of 16 players does not include Paul Collingwood or Ben Stokes, who are currently on England duty - Collingwood in a coaching capacity and Stokes as a player.

Indian batsman Virender Sehwag will captain a strong MCC team that will also feature Monty Panesar and Samit Patel.

After returning from Abu Dhabi, Durham begin the defence of their LV= County Championship with a game against Northamptonshire which starts on 13th April.

Durham squad: Gareth Breese, Scott Borthwick, Ryan Buckley, Paul Coughlin, Jamie Harrison, Keaton Jennings, Gordon Muchall, Phil Mustard, Graham Onions, Stuart Poynter, Ryan Pringle, Michael Richardson, Chris Rushworth, Mark Stoneman, Usman Arshad, Mark Wood

© Cricket World 2014