< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Dwayne Bravo replaced by Romario Shepherd on New Zealand Tour

Dwayne Bravo replaced by Romario Shepherd on New Zealand Tour
Dwayne Bravo replaced by Romario Shepherd on New Zealand Tour

West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo has been ruled out of the upcoming tour of New Zealand due to a groin injury. The experienced 37-year-old sustained the injury on Saturday whilst playing for the Chennai Super Kings in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Bravo, the two-time T20 World Cup winner, will now return to Trinidad to continue his rehabilitation. He will be replaced by Romario Shepherd, the 25-year-old all-rounder, who made his international debut last year against Afghanistan. He has so far played five One-Day Internationals and two T20 Internationals (T20Is).

The defending ICC T20 World Cup champions will visit New Zealand from November 27 to December 15. They will start the tour with three T20Is, followed by two Test matches as part of the ICC World Test Championship.

Bravo said: “I was really looking forward to the tour of New Zealand as it has been so many months since I last wore maroon in Sri Lanka back in March and we are all so excited about building towards defending our T20 World Cup next year. Unfortunately, the injury I sustained on Saturday playing for CSK has not only ruled me out of the IPL but also the tour. I’m making arrangements to return to Trinidad over the next few days where I will continue my rehab and treatment. I’m fully committed to representing the West Indies and I just need to get myself stronger again.”

Shepherd said: “This is a great opportunity for me, and I want to take it with both hands. I was in the team before, last year and earlier this year, so I have a good feel of the game at this level. I’ve been training hard and working at all areas of my game so I’m ready.”


T20I Squad

Kieron Pollard (captain)

Fabian Allen

Sheldon Cottrell

Andre Fletcher

Shimron Hetmyer

Brandon King

Kyle Mayers

Rovman Powell

Keemo Paul

Nicholas Pooran

Romario Shepherd

Oshane Thomas

Hayden Walsh Jr

Kesrick Williams


Test Squad

Jason Holder (captain)

Jermaine Blackwood

Kraigg Brathwaite

Darren Bravo

Shamarh Brooks

John Campbell

Roston Chase

Rahkeem Cornwall

Shane Dowrich

Shannon Gabriel

Shimron Hetmyer

Chemar Holder

Alzarri Joseph

Keemo Paul

Kemar Roach


Test Reserves

Nkrumah Bonner

Joshua DaSilva

Preston McSween

Shayne Moseley

Raymon Reifer

Jayden Seales



November 27: 1st T20I at Eden Park, Auckland

November 29: 2nd T20I at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

November 30: 3rd T20I at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

December 3-7: 1st Test at Seddon Park, Hamilton

December 11-15: 2nd Test at Basin Reserve, Wellington