Ealing Win Cockspur Cup

Ealing Win Cockspur Cup
Ealing Win Cockspur Cup
©Action Images

Ealing Cricket Club were on Monday crowned Barbados Cockspur Club t20 champions following a 10-wicket drubbing of fellow finalists Chester-le-Street at Chelmsford.

The competition, which involves more than 750 clubs from 32 leagues across England and Wales, reached its conclusion with a finals day that mirrors that of the Friends Life t20, with four clubs all competing for the first prize - an all inclusive pre-season tour of Barbados.

Ealing took on Cornish side St Just in the first semi-final and overcame them with ease to win by seven wickets, as former Middlesex slow left-armer Chris Peploe starred with both bat and ball.

The second semi-final pitted Hyde CC from the Cheshire County League against Chester-le-Street from the North-East Premier League and despite Chester-le-Street only making 102 from their 20 overs, they recorded a five-run victory as Hyde lost their last five wickets for just ten runs.

Chester-le-Street's batting improved sligthly in the final as, after being put into bat, they ended with 120 for four. That, however, was never going to be enough for a strong Ealing side and Chris Peploe (56 not out) and Loughborough University's Oliver Wilkin (63 not out) knocked off the runs without any alarms.

Their captain David Holt said after the game, "“It means the world to win the competition; we’ve put in so much effort. We’ve won the league again this year so it’s absolutely tremendous to take this title as well, I’m over the moon. The fashion in which we have won the game today is amazing, the boys can’t wait to get over to Barbados in the spring."

He also paid tribute to the depth of talent in the squad saying, "Chris Peploe is our best player but we have a team of excellent club cricketers who are really close and that really makes a difference when we are out there."

© Cricket World 2011



Nominate a Performance of the Week
Become a Profiled Club
Find a Fixture