ECB Awards 18 Women Contracts

18 England players have been given new ECB contracts
18 England players have been given new ECB contracts
©REUTERS / Action Images

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has selected 18 players from the England Women's Performance Programme to be awarded new contracts.

The new contracts come into effect this month following the decision by the ECB Board to significantly re-invest in the women's game.

The 18 players are now set to benefit from the new and improved financial arrangements.

"The performances delivered by Charlotte Edwards and her team over the past 12 months, including back-to-back Women’s Ashes triumphs, a historic series win in the West Indies in November, and reaching the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 final in Bangladesh, unequivocally justify the financial reward which comes with the new England women’s contracts," Clare Connor, ECB Head of England Women's Cricket, said.

"The pay increase for the contracted players is significant and signals the dawning of a fully professional era in every sense for England women’s cricket. 

"I am grateful to the ECB Board for the ongoing support they provide towards the development of the women’s game in this country.”  

Paul Downton, Managing Director England Cricket, added: "The England women’s team always prepare to excellent standards, and have been professional cricketers in all but name for a while now.  

"International women’s cricket has developed at a fast pace over the last few years and is now a year-round operation. 

"The new arrangements will allow the 18 contracted players to train as full-time professionals. 

"This is a very natural next step forward for the women’s game in this country, and we hope that the move will lead to England maintaining their position as one of the most successful women’s teams in the world."

England host India (one Test, three One-Day Internationals) and South Africa (three Twenty20 Internationals) this summer.

England Women contracted players 2014-15: Charlotte Edwards (captain), Tamsin Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Kathryn Cross, Georgia Elwiss, Natasha Farrant, Lydia Greenway, Rebecca Grundy, Jenny Gunn, Danielle Hazell, Amy Jones, Heather Knight, Laura Marsh, Natalie Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Sarah Taylor, Lauren Winfield, Danielle Wyatt

© Cricket World 2014