< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
 

ECB has a word with Alastair Cook over choice of helmet

ECB has a word with Alastair Cook over choice of helmet
Alastair Cook scored a century in the first innings for Essex but his helmet has come under the scanner.
©REUTERS / Action Images
 

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has had a word with Test captain Alastair Cook after he failed to adhere to new safety regulations by wearing an old-style helmet in a County Championship match.

Batting for Essex against Gloucestershire, Cook scored 105 and 35 not out respectively but he failed to wear the new helmet which adheres to the updated safety rules.

The new helmets currently comply to British Safety Standard BS7928:13 and have a smaller space between the top of the helmet and the grille, so as to prevent the ball from entering and hitting the face.

The rules were changed after Craig Keiswetter and Stuart Broad suffered injuries due to the ball hitting them on the face after passing through the space above the grille.

While Broad made a successful return to international cricket after recovering from the blow, he admitted that the injury shattered his confidence and gave him nightmares.

On the other hand, Kieswetter failed to make a complete recovery and retired from the game in June 2015 due to problems with his vision.

If Cook does not wear the new helmet which confirms to the new safety rules, domestic and international umpires can ask him to leave the field.

© Cricket World 2016