England Set To Host Australia, New Zealand And Champions Trophy In 2013

England Set To Host Australia, New Zealand And Champions Trophy In 2013
England Set To Host Australia, New Zealand And Champions Trophy In 2013
©REUTERS / Action Images

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has unveiled its summer cricket programme for 2013, which includes tours by Australia and New Zealand and the ICC Champions Trophy.

The Ashes Tests will be hosted by Trent Bridge, Lord's, Old Trafford, The Kia Oval and the Emirates Durham International Cricket Ground.

New Zealand will arrive before the Ashes and play Tests at Lord's and Headingley as well three One-Day Internationals and two Twenty20 Internationals.

Cardiff, Edgbaston and The Oval will host the Champions Trophy, which will see the top eight sides in the world in action. Edgbaston has the honour of hosting the final with the other venues holding a semi-final apiece.

"The prospect of England defending the Ashes on home soil, the world's top eight teams competing in the ICC Champions Trophy, and a full programme of 50-Over and T20 International cricket will provide rich pickings for cricket fans next summer," ECB Chief Executive David Collier said.

"Last season's international programme attracted a record aggregate attendance of more than 850,000 spectators and we would urge all fans to purchase their international tickets early for 2013 to avoid missing out on what promises to be a memorable summer.

"Wales has earned an outstanding reputation for its ability to deliver world-class sporting events and we are delighted that Cardiff will be used as a host venue for the ICC Champions Trophy and stage a semi-final.

"Cardiff was originally scheduled to stage next summer’s 1st Investec Test match against New Zealand and following further discussions between ECB, Glamorgan CCC, and MCC, this match will now be played at Lord’s. We are grateful to both parties for their co-operation in this matter."

New Zealand in England 2013

4th-6th May: Tour game v Derbyshire, Derby
9th-12th May: Tour game v England Lions, Leicester

16th-20th May: 1st Test, Lord's, London
24th-28th May: 2nd Test, Headingley, Leeds

31st May: 1st ODI, Lord's, London
2nd June: 2nd ODI, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton
5th June: 3rd ODI, Trent Bridge, Nottingham

22nd June: T20 tour game v Kent, Canterbury (if New Zealand do not make it to the semi-finals of the Champions Trophy)
25th June: 1st T20I, Kia Oval, London
27th June: 2nd T20I, Kia Oval, London

ICC Champions Trophy 2013

6th-17th June: Group Stages
19th June: 1st semi-final, The Kia Oval, London
20th June: 2nd semi-final, SWALEC Stadium, Cardiff
23rd June: Final, Edgbaston, Birmingham

Australia in England 2013

26th-29th June: Tour game v Somerset, Taunton
2nd-5th July: Tour game v Worcestershire, New Road, Worcester

10th-14th July: 1st Test, Trent Bridge, Nottingham
18th-22nd July: 2nd Test, Lord's, London

26th-28th July: Tour game v Sussex, Hove

1st-5th August: 3rd Test, Old Trafford, Manchester
9th-13th August: 4th Test, Emirates Durham ICG, Chester-le-Street

16th-17th August: Tour game v Northamptonshire, Northampton or two-day game against England Lions at Northampton should Northamptoshire reach the finals of Friends Life t20

21st-25th August: 4th Test, Kia Oval, London

29th August: 1st T20I, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton
31st August: 2nd T20I, Emirates Durham ICG, Chester-le-Street

3rd September: ODI v Scotland, Citylets Grange, Glasgow
3rd September: Ireland v England ODI, Malahide CC, Dublin

6th September: 1st ODI, Headingley, Leeds
8th September: 2nd ODI, Old Trafford, Manchester
11th September: 3rd ODI, Edgbaston, Birmingham
14th September: 4th ODI, SWALEC Stadium, Cardiff
16th September: 5th ODI, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton

© Cricket World 2012