< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Eight New Marquee Players Announced For The Hundred

Eight New Marquee Players Announced For The Hundred
Eight New Marquee Players Announced For The Hundred

The eight women's teams in The Hundred have today each announced a new marquee signing.

Deandra Dottin and Stafanie Taylor become the first West Indian players to join the women's competition - signing for London Spirit and Southern Brave respectively.

Australia's Jess Jonassen links up with compatriots Matthew Mott and Meg Lanning at Welsh Fire, while Rachael Haynes is set for Oval Invincibles and Elyse Villani heads to the Trent Rockets.

Birmingham Phoenix will be home for Wolverhampton local Georgia Elwiss, and Alice Davidson-Richards is to become part of Dani Hazell's Northern Superchargers squad.

South Africa's Mignon du Preez will join Manchester Originals.


New signing

Current marquee players

Birmingham Phoenix

Georgia Elwiss

Amy Jones, Kirstie Gordon, Sophie Devine

London Spirit

Deandra Dottin

Heather Knight, Freya Davies, Tammy Beaumont

Manchester Originals

Mignon du Preez

Kate Cross, Sophie Ecclestone, Lizelle Lee

Northern Superchargers

Alice Davidson-Richards

Lauren Winfield (cap), Linsey Smith, Alyssa Healy

Oval Invincibles

Rachael Haynes

Laura Marsh, Fran Wilson, Dane van Niekerk

Southern Brave

Stafanie Taylor

Anya Shrubsole, Danni Wyatt, Suzie Bates

Trent Rockets

Elyse Villani

Nat Sciver, Katherine Brunt, Sophie Molineux

Welsh Fire

Jess Jonassen

Katie George, Bryony Smith, Meg Lanning

West Indies captain Stafanie Taylor said: "I can't wait to join Southern Brave. The other three players we've already announced are very strong and it's going to be such a great competition. I'm really looking forward to working under Charlotte Edwards again.

"There's also a strong Caribbean vibe in the men's team at Southern Brave - with Andre Russell, Jofra Archer and Chris Jordan - so it will be nice to play alongside them and hopefully both teams can have success."

Manchester Originals signing Mignon du Preez added: "There are some highly talented teams beginning to take shape and the standard is going to be very high. I've played in the Kia Super League and I've always enjoyed it so it's really nice to come back and take part in top-quality domestic competitions. 

"It's going to be something a bit different but it's obviously all about trying to take cricket to as many people as possible and as players that's something we want to support. I look forward to coming back to the UK next summer and being a part of Manchester Originals.

The signings - a mixture of international and England talent - means the eight teams have now announced four of their 15-strong squads. Team Head Coaches have until May 31 to finalise their line-ups.

The five-week competition will be played at the height of summer, starting July 2020, featuring eight new city-based teams; Manchester Originals, Northern Superchargers, Trent Rockets, Birmingham Phoenix, Welsh Fire, Southern Brave, London Spirit & Oval Invincibles.

© Cricket World 2019