Ellyse Perry wins Women's Cricketer of the Year award

Ellyse Perry claimed the top award in ICC's awards
Ellyse Perry claimed the top award in ICC's awards

Australia all-rounder Ellyse Perry has won the ICC Women's Player of the Year award following stellar performances in the 14-month period.

Perry had an exceptional record in One-Day Internationals scoring 905 runs and picking 22 wickets while in the one-off Ashes Test, she amassed 213 runs and also picked three wickets.

"This year has been a very special year for women's cricket with many milestones reached, so it is a privilege and honour to receive the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award," Perry said in a statement.

"I'd like to acknowledge the incredible work and legacy Rachael has left behind for the game, she is certainly missed.

"A special thanks to Cricket Australia for the incredible amount of support they provide to the Australian Women's Cricket Team and the way in which they continue to lead the development of women's sport in Australia.

"Also, my team-mates and our support staff, thanks so much for making it so enjoyable and memorable to tour and represent Australia."

Perry had to beat New Zealand all-rounder Amy Satterthwaite and India's Harmanpreet Kaur to claim the prestigious award.

Satterthwaite went on to bag the ODI Player of the Year after scoring 1183 runs in 24 matches while Perry's team-mate Beth Mooney was named the T20I Player of the Year and also the Emerging Player of the Year.

© Cricket World 2017