< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Eng v India 2nd T20I: Bhuvneshwar, Jadeja star with bat and ball as India seal series

India sealed their three-match T20I series against England with a 49-run win over the home team in the second game at the Edgbaston in Birmingham on Saturday.

India after being asked to bat posted 170 for eight in their 20 overs and in response England was bowled out for 121 in 17 overs.

Earlier, India got off to a fine start as captain Rohit Sharma (31) and Rishabh Pant (26) added 49 for the opening wicket. Then there was a collapse as India was reduced to 61 for three. Then there was a 28 run fourth wicket stand between Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya. But both Yadav and Pandya fell off successive deliveries. Then there was a 33 run sixth wicket stand between Dinesh Karthik and Ravindra Jadeja which revived the innings. Towards the end India lost wickets but still they finished on 170 for eight in their 20 overs. Jadeja remained unbeaten on 46 off 29 balls with five boundaries. For England the best bowlers were Chris Jordan (4-27) and Richard Gleeson (3-15).

In their response, England lost Jason Roy off the first ball. Then England suffered a collapse as they were reduced to 27 for three. England lost wickets at regular intervals as they were struggling at 60 for six. Then there was a 34 run seventh wicket stand between Moeen Ali (35) and David Willey (33 n.o.). Towards the end Willey used the long handle to good effect as he remained unbeaten on 33 off 22 balls with three boundaries and two sixes. In the end England was bowled out for 121 in 17 overs. For India the best bowlers were Bhuvneshwar Kumar (3-15), Jasprit Bumrah (2-10) and Yuzvendra Chahal (2-10). 

Match Summary
India: 170-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-49 (Rohit Sharma-4.5 ov), 2-61 (Virat Kohli-6.1 ov), 3-61 (Rishabh Pant-6.2 ov), 4-89 (Suryakumar Yadav-10.3 ov), 5-89 (Hardik Pandya-10.4 ov), 6-122 (Dinesh Karthik-15.1 ov), 7-145 (Harshal Patel-16.6 ov), 8-159 (Bhuvneshwar Kumar-18.6 ov)

England: 121 (17)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Jason Roy-0.1 ov), 2-11 (Jos Buttler-2.3 ov), 3-27 (Liam Livingstone-4.1 ov), 4-41 (Harry Brook-6.4 ov), 5-55 (Dawid Malan-9.1 ov), 6-60 (Sam Curran-10.2 ov), 7-94 (Moeen Ali-14.2 ov), 8-95 (Chris Jordan-14.3 ov), 9-109 (Richard Gleeson-15.4 ov), 10-121 (Matt Parkinson-16.6 ov)


Result: India won by 49 runs

Playing XIs
England: Jason Roy, Jos Buttler (captain & wicket-keeper), Dawid Malan, Liam Livingstone, Harry Brook, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, David Willey, Chris Jordan, Richard Gleeson, Matt Parkinson

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Match details
Toss:England, elected to bowl
Venue: Edgbaston, Birmingham
Start time: 14.30 hrs UK time
Match officials: David Millns, Martin Saggers (On-field Umpires); Alex Wharf (TV Umpire); Rob Bailey (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022