< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Eng v India 3rd T20I: Yadav's ton in vain as England hold nerves to pull one back

England pulled one back in the three-match T20I series against India by winning the last game at Trent Bridge, Nottingham by 17 runs on Sunday.

After opting to bat, England posted 215 for seven in their 20 overs and in their response India finished on 198 for nine in their 20 overs.

Earlier, England started off positively with their captain Jos Buttler and Jason Roy putting on 31. Thereafter, Roy carried the innings forward with Dawid Malan. Roy finally fell for 27. Thereafter, Malan took charge as he added 84 runs for the fourth wicket with Liam Livingstone (42 n.o.). Malan finished on 77 off 39 balls with six boundaries and five sixes. Towards the end, England lost wickets but still finished on 215 for seven in their 20 overs. For India the best bowlers were Ravi Bishnoi (2-30) and Harshal Patel (2-35).

In their response, India lost their top-order to be reduced to 31 for three. Then Suryakumar Yadav added 119 runs for the fourth wicket with Shreyas Iyer. Yadav and Iyer revived the chase brilliantly as they batted with gay abandon. Iyer fell for 28 off 23 balls. After Iyer was dismissed India lost track as they slipped from 150 for three. Yadav finally fell in the 19th over for 117 off 55 balls with 14 boundaries and six sixes. In the end India finished on 198 for nine in their 20 overs. For England the best bowlers were Reece Topley (3-22), Chris Jordan (2-37) and David Willey (2-40).

The player of the series was Bhuvneshwar Kumar and player of the final match was Reece Topley.

The two sides will now face off in a three-match ODI series from Tuesday at The Oval in London. 

Match Summary
England: 215-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-31 (Jos Buttler-3.4 ov), 2-61 (Jason Roy-7.1 ov), 3-84 (Phil Salt-9.3 ov), 4-168 (Dawid Malan-16.3 ov), 5-169 (Moeen Ali-16.5 ov), 6-197 (Harry Brook-18.5 ov), 7-215 (Chris Jordan-19.6 ov)

India: 198-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Rishabh Pant-1.1 ov), 2-13 (Virat Kohli-2.4 ov), 3-31 (Rohit Sharma-4.6 ov), 4-150 (Shreyas Iyer-15.1 ov), 5-166 (Dinesh Karthik-16.5 ov), 6-173 (Ravindra Jadeja-17.3 ov), 7-191 (Suryakumar Yadav-18.5 ov), 8-196 (Harshal Patel-19.4 ov), 9-198 (Ravi Bishnoi-19.6 ov)


Result: India won by 17 runs 

Playing XIs
England: Jason Roy, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper & captain), Dawid Malan, Philip Salt, Liam Livingstone, Harry Brook, Moeen Ali, David Willey, Chris Jordan, Richard Gleeson, Reece Topley

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, Ravi Bishnoi

Match details
Toss: England, elected to bat
Venue: Trent Bridge, Nottingham
Start time: 14.30 hrs UK time
Match officials: Alex Wharf, Mike Burns (On-field Umpires); David Millns (TV Umpire); Rob Bailey (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022