< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Eng v India 5th Test Day 1: Pant, Jadeja help India take control of Test

Rishabh Pant struck a brilliant hundred as India took control of the fifth and final Test against England on the opening day at Edgbaston, Birmingham.

On Friday, India after being asked to bat posted 338 for seven on a rain-hit opening day.

India started off slowly as they lost opener Shubman Gill. Shortly thereafter India lost Cheteshwar Pujara for 13. India was struggling at 46 for two. Then India lost Hanuma Vihari, Virat Kohli and Shreyas Iyer in quick succession. India was tottering at 98 for five in 27.5 overs.

It was then that the innings changed course. Pant added a brilliant 222 runs for the sixth wicket with Ravindra Jadeja. Together the duo pulled India out of the mess. Pant finished on 146 off 111 balls with 19 boundaries and four sixes. Later, India lost Shardul Thakur soon after. India ended the opening day at 338 for seven in 73 overs. Jadeja ended the day on an unbeaten 83 off 163 balls with 10 boundaries.

For England the best bowlers were James Anderson (3-52) and Matthew Potts (2-85). 

Match Summary
India: 338-7 (73)
Fall of wickets: 1-27 (Shubman Gill-6.2 ov), 2-46 (Cheteshwar Pujara-17.6 ov), 3-64 (Hanuma Vihari-22.2 ov), 4-71 (Virat Kohli-24.2 ov), 5-98 (Shreyas Iyer-27.5 ov), 6-320 (Rishabh Pant-66.2 ov), 7-323 (Shardul Thakur-67.6 ov)


Playing XIs
England: Alex Lees, Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (captain), Sam Billings (wicket-keeper), Matthew Potts, Stuart Broad, Jack Leach, James Anderson

India: Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah (captain), Mohammed Siraj

Match Details
Toss: England, elected to field
Venue: Edgbaston, Birmingham
Start time: 1030 hrs UK time
Match officials: Aleem Dar, Richard Kettleborough (On-field Umpires); Marais Erasmus (TV Umpire); Alex Wharf (Reserve Umpire); David Boon (Match-referee)  

© Cricket World 2022