< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Eng v India 5th Test Day 2: Bumrah stars on the second day with bat and ball

India gained control of the fifth and final Test against England at Edgbaston as their stand-in captain Jasprit Bumrah starred with the ball and bat on the second day.

On Saturday, India resumed at their overnight 338 for seven to finish on 416. England in their response finished the day on 84 for five.

Earlier, Ravindra Jadeja carried the innings forward as he added 48 runs for the eighth wicket with Mohammed Shami. Jadeja ended on 104 off 194 balls with 13 boundaries. Towards the end, Bumrah took charge as he added 41 for the final wicket with Mohammed Siraj. Bumrah created a world record as he struck 35 runs off a Stuart Broad over. This was the highest number of runs scored in an over in Test cricket. India ended on 416 in 84.5 overs. For England the best bowlers were James Anderson (5-60) and Matthew Potts (2-105).

In their response England lost their top-order cheaply. They were reduced to 27 for two as rain played spoilsport throughout the day. There were regular stoppages as England also lost wickets at regular intervals. They were struggling at 44 for three. Then there was one final hour of play possible as England lost Joe Root and nightwatchman Jack Leach. England ended the day on 84 for five in 27 overs. For India the best bowler was Bumrah (3-35). 

Match Summary
India: 416 (84.5)
Fall of wickets: 8-371 (Mohammed Shami-79.4 ov), 9-375 (Ravindra Jadeja-82.2 ov), 10-416 (Mohammed Siraj-84.5 ov)

England: 84-5 (27)
Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Alex Lees-2.6 ov), 2-27 (Zak Crawley-4.1 ov), 3-44 (Ollie Pope-10.6 ov), 4-78 (Joe Root-22.6 ov), 5-83 (Jack Leach-25.3 ov)


Playing XIs
England: Alex Lees, Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (captain), Sam Billings (wicket-keeper), Matthew Potts, Stuart Broad, Jack Leach, James Anderson

India: Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah (captain), Mohammed Siraj

Match Details
Toss: England, elected to field
Venue: Edgbaston, Birmingham
Start time: 1030 hrs UK time
Match officials: Aleem Dar, Richard Kettleborough (On-field Umpires); Marais Erasmus (TV Umpire); Alex Wharf (Reserve Umpire); David Boon (Match-referee)  

© Cricket World 2022