< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Eng v India 5th Test Day 2: Pujara, Siraj star as India take control of the Test

India took a comfortable lead of 132 runs over England on the third day of the fifth and final Test at Edgbaston on Sunday.

Starting at their overnight score of 84 for five, England finished on 284 in 61.3 overs and in response India finished third day at 125 for three in 45 overs.

Earlier, England started well with their captain Ben Stokes (25) and Jonny Bairstow added 66 runs for the sixth wicket. Stokes fell first as India clawed back. Their Bairstow added 92 runs for the seventh wicket with Sam Billings (36). In the end Bairstow fell for 106 in 140 balls with 14 boundaries and two sixes. This was Bairstow's fifth hundred for 2022. Thereafter the innings lost momentum as England was bowled out for 284 in 61.3 overs as India gained 132 run lead. For India the best bowlers were Mohammed Siraj (4-66), Jasprit Bumrah (3-68) and Mohammed Shami (2-78).

In their response, India lost Shubman Gill early. Then Cheteshwar Pujara added 39 runs for the second wicket with Hanuma Vihari (11). Thereafter, Virat Kohli fell for 20. Then as the day progressed Pujara added 50 runs for an unbroken fourth wicket stand with Rishabh Pant. Pujara ended the day on an unbeaten 50 off 139 balls with five boundaries and Pant was batting on 30 off 46 balls with four boundaries. 

Match Summary
India 1st Innings: 416 (84.5)

England 1st Innings: 284 (61.3)
Fall of wickets: 6-149 (Ben Stokes-37.4 ov), 7-241 (Jonny Bairstow-54.1 ov), 8-248 (Stuart Broad-55.4 ov), 9-267 (Sam Billings-59.1 ov), 10-284 (Matthew Potts-61.3 ov)

India 2nd Innings: 125-3 (45)
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Shubman Gill-0.3 ov), 2-43 (Hanuma Vihari-16.3 ov), 3-75 (Virat Kohli-29.5 ov)


Playing XIs
England: Alex Lees, Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (captain), Sam Billings (wicket-keeper), Matthew Potts, Stuart Broad, Jack Leach, James Anderson

India: Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah (captain), Mohammed Siraj

Match Details
Toss: England, elected to field
Venue: Edgbaston, Birmingham
Start time: 1030 hrs UK time
Match officials: Aleem Dar, Richard Kettleborough (On-field Umpires); Marais Erasmus (TV Umpire); Alex Wharf (Reserve Umpire); David Boon (Match-referee)  

© Cricket World 2022