< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Eng v India 5th Test Day 4: Root, Bairstow take England to the brink

England need 119 more runs with seven wickets to spare on the fifth and final day of the fifth Test against India to level the series.

At Edgbaston on Monday, India was bowled out for 245 which set a target of 378 for England. Towards the end of the day England finished on 259 for three needing a further 119 runs to win the Test.

Resuming at their overnight score of 125 for three, India added a further 28 runs before they lost their first wicket. Cheteshwar Pujara fell for 66 off 168 balls with eight boundaries. Then Shreyas Iyer added 37 runs for the fifth wicket with vice-captain Rishabh Pant (57: 86b, 8x4). Towards the end, India lost wickets at regular intervals. In the end India was bowled out for 245 in 81.5 overs. For England the best bowlers were Ben Stokes (4-33), Stuart Broad (2-58) and Matthew Potts (2-50).

In their response, England got off to a hectic start. The openers Alex Lees (56: 65b, 8x4) and Zak Crawley (46) added 107 for the opening wicket. But right at the stroke of tea, England lost Crawley. Then right after tea off the very first ball Ollie Pope was dismissed. Very soon after that Lees was run out. Then Jonny Bairstow and Joe Root combined to put on 150 runs in an unbroken fourth wicket stand. In the end England ended on 259 for three in 57 overs. For India the best bowler was their captain Jasprit Bumrah (2-53).

Match Summary
India 1st Innings: 416 (84.5)
England 1st Innings: 284 (61.3)

India 2nd Innings: 245-3 (81.5)
Fall of wickets: 4-153 (Cheteshwar Pujara-52.3 ov), 5-190 (Shreyas Iyer-59.2 ov), 6-198 (Rishabh Pant-62.2 ov), 7-207 (Shardul Thakur-69.1 ov), 8-230 (Mohammed Shami-73.4 ov), 9-236 (Ravindra Jadeja-79.2 ov), 10-245 (Jasprit Bumrah-81.5 ov)

England 2nd Innings: 259-3 (57)
Fall of wickets: 1-107 (Zak Crawley-21.4 ov), 2-107 (Ollie Pope-23.1 ov), 3-109 (Alex Lees-24.1 ov)


Playing XIs

England: Alex Lees, Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (captain), Sam Billings (wicket-keeper), Matthew Potts, Stuart Broad, Jack Leach, James Anderson

India: Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah (captain), Mohammed Siraj

Match Details
Toss: England, elected to field
Venue: Edgbaston, Birmingham
Start time: 1030 hrs UK time
Match officials: Aleem Dar, Richard Kettleborough (On-field Umpires); Marais Erasmus (TV Umpire); Alex Wharf (Reserve Umpire); David Boon (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022