Pietersen Rested For ODIs, Buttler, Hales Called Up

England Calls For Buttler And Hales
England Calls For Buttler And Hales
©Action Images / Scott Heavey

Nottinghamshire batsman Alex Hales and Somerset wicket-keeper/batsman Jos Buttler have been called up to England's Twenty20 International squad to play India at Old Trafford on 31st August.

Durham all-rounder Ben Stokes, who made his debut in the 11-run win over Ireland in Clontarf, makes the squad and is also included in the One-Day International squad.

Kevin Pietersen has been rested for the ODI series which sees Alastair Cook, as captain, and a number of other senior players return having been themselves rested from the match in Clontarf.

"Across both squads we believe we've selected an exciting blend of experienced international performers along with some exciting young players with a great deal of talent. We will need to play a high quality brand of limited overs cricket against the World Champions India," national selector Geoff Miller said.
"We're very excited to have included some bright young players in the form of Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler and Alex Hales, all of whom have proved themselves domestically and will now be looking to successfully take the step up to international level.
"The decision to omit Kevin Pietersen from the One-Day squad is in line with our policy of sensibly managing player workloads and will give the opportunity to another batsmen to test himself batting at number four."

Hales would have caught the eye of the selectors when he hit 78 in the Friends Life t20 quarter-final against Somerset, for whom Buttler has been a regular feature during Somerset's recent form in Twenty20 which has seen them reach the last two FLt20 finals.

England T20I squad: Stuart Broad (captain), Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Craig Kieswetter, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, Ben Stokes, Graeme Swann

England ODI squad: Alastair Cook (captain), James Anderson, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Craig Kieswetter, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Ben Stokes, Graeme Swann, Jonathan Trott

© Cricket World 2011