England claim 14-run win in warm-up game despite David Willey's hat-trick

England claim 14-run win in warm-up game despite David Willey's hat-trick
David Willey dismissed Joe Root, Moeen Ali and Chris Jordan off successive deliveries.
©REUTERS / Action Images

England 177-8 (Root 48) beat
Mumbai CA XI 163-6 (Bista 51) by 14 runs
ICC World Twenty20 warm-up match in Mumbai

Led by a collective batting effort, England resisted a hat-trick from David Willey and a half-century from Jay Bista to win the ICC World Twenty20 warm-up game against Mumbai CA XI at the Brabourne Stadium by 14 runs.

Willey along with James Vince, Jos Buttler and Adil Rashid featured for the Mumbai CA XI and based on a mutual understanding between the teams England decided to bat first.

Jason Roy (32) and Alex Hales (37) got England off to a flying start racing to 69 runs in just 39 deliveries.

However, it was Rashid (2-33) who got rid off both the openers in a span of nine runs slowing down England's progress. At the halfway mark, England were 82 for two.

Just when England innings were losing momentum, Joe Root (48) and Ben Stokes (30) added 69 runs for the fourth wicket in just 41 deliveries.

Despite a hat-trick from Willey (3-35) in the final three deliveries of the innings where he dismissed Root, Moeen Ali (1) and Chris Jordan (0), England went on to post 177 for eight in the 20 overs.

In response Bista (51) and Shreyas Iyer (16) got the Mumbai CA XI to a quick start of 57 in just 35 deliveries. Liam Plunkett (1-19) provided England with the initial breakthrough dismissing Iyer.

Bista reached his fifty off just 35 deliveries and was soon deceived by Ali (1-27).

Vince (45) and Buttler (25) tried to exert pressure on the England bowlers with a 47-run stand but both were castled by Jordan (2-34) in his successive overs.

With 22 needed off the final over bowled by Reece Topley (2-26), Mumbai CA XI managed only seven runs ensuring a 14-run victory for England.

England begin their World T20 campaign against West Indies on 16th March in Mumbai.

© Cricket World 2016