Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

England crumble to huge defeat against New Zealand at the Bay Oval in 1st Test

New Zealand v England - First Test - Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui, New Zealand - November 25, 2019 New Zealand's Neil Wagner celebrates taking the wicket of England's Stuart Broad

England crumbled to a huge defeat against New Zealand, at the Bay Oval, by an innings and 65 runs, in the 1st Test earlier today.

Match Summary

England - 353   (Rory Burns 52, Joe Denly 74, Ben Stokes 91, Jos Buttler 43; Tim Southee 4-88, Neil Wagner 3-90, Colin de Grandhomme 2-41) and 197 (Mitchell Santner 3-53, Neil Wagner 5-44)

New Zealand – 615-9   (Kane Williamson 51, BJ Watling 205,  Colin de Grandhomme 65, Mitchell Santner 126; Sam Curran 3-119, Ben Stokes 2-74)

Result - New Zealand won by an innings and 65 runs


Resuming on their overnight score of 55-3, England were bowled out for just 197 with 21.4 overs still left of the day’s play.

Neil Wagner (5-44) did most of the damage with the ball for New Zealand and England have plenty to think about before the next Test which begins in Hamilton on November 28th.

England captain Joe Root commented after the match: "We did a lot of good stuff - we just need to do it for longer. It's different to the style of cricket we've had to play in our home conditions.

"We can't panic and think it's the end of the world. We are working hard behind the scenes and if we come back strong, we'll hopefully level it up."


New Zealand captain Kane Williamson said on his team’s performance: "It feels great to win a Test match and it took a huge amount of work to get past their total.

"It was huge heart from our middle order to get over 600 and that gave us the only chance of winning."


Match Details


New Zealand - Tom Latham, Jeet Raval, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, BJ Watling(wk), Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult

England - Rory Burns, Dominic Sibley, Joe Denly, Joe Root(c), Ben Stokes, Ollie Pope, Jos Buttler(wk), Sam Curran, Jofra Archer, Stuart Broad, Jack Leach


Start Time: 22:00


Toss: England won the toss and decided to bat


Venue: Bay Oval, Tauranga


Officials: Handunnettige Dharmasena, Bruce Oxenford, Paul Wilson, Christopher Brown, Javagal Srinath


©Cricket World 2019