England Name Provisional World Cup Squad

England Name Provisional World Cup Squad
England Name Provisional World Cup Squad
©Action Images / Matthew Childs Livepic

England have named their 30-man preliminary squad for the 2011 World Cup, including Matthew Prior, Alastair Cook and Samit Patel amongst the players selected.

Prior and Cook do not currently feature in the ODI side and were not named in the limited overs squad to play Australia early next year and Patel has not been picked for over a year after he failed fitness tests.

The squad will be reduced to 15 members by 19th January and the tournament begins on 19th February.

England National Selector, Geoff Miller, said: "We have selected a squad of players with a strong track record in limited overs cricket either for England or in the domestic game.

"Recent series have shown we have made progress in one-day cricket and we will be looking to continue this form during next year's World Cup and challenge for another global title.

"Steven Finn and Chris Tremlett continue to impress with their development after strong performances domestically and with the England team at international level.

"Samit Patel has also been included in this preliminary squad and - along with every other player named - will be required to meet individual fitness criteria before the squad is finalised. There is still some time to pass before the final squad is selected so all 30 players have sufficient time to press for selection."

England will play Bangladesh, India, Ireland, the Netherlands, South Africa and the West Indies in Group B of the competition, beginning their campaign on 22nd February against the Netherlands.

Fast bowler Stuart Broad is named in the squad despite being ruled out of the remainder of the tour of Australia with an abdominal injury and there are call-ups for uncapped players James Adams, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, James Hildreth, Michael Lumb and Darren Stevens.

England preliminary World Cup squad: Andrew Strauss (captain), James Adams, James Anderson, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Alastair Cook, Steven Davies, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, James Hildreth, Craig Kieswetter, Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, Liam Plunkett, Matthew Prior, Adil Rashid, Darren Stevens, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Chris Tremlett, Jonathan Trott, Chris Woakes, Luke Wright, Michael Yardy

Cricket World 2010

YouTube Button