< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

England name Stokes, Hales in ODI squad

Ben Stokes and Alex Hales (right) included in the England squad
Ben Stokes and Alex Hales (right) included in the England squad

England have named Durham all-rounder Ben Stokes and Nottinghamshire opening batsman Alex Hales in their 16-man squad for the upcoming five-match One-Day International series against Australia.

Both the players were suspended by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) pending a police investigation for their involvement in an incident in Bristol and their participation in the series will depend on the outcome of the case which is forwarded to Crown Prosecution Service for charging advice.

"Selectors were given clear guidance to name their strongest squad and have made their selections accordingly," an ECB release stated.

"Both Alex Hales and Ben Stokes are included, though their involvement remains subject to any relevant legal or disciplinary developments in relation to the incident in Bristol in September."

Hales will have an uphill task of claiming his opening spot back as in his absence Jason Roy and Jonny Bairstow had splendid partnerships of 126 and 156 in the final two ODIs against West Indies.

"We've been playing some good one-day cricket and Jonny Bairstow and Jason Roy at the top of the order have played well," said England coach Trevor Bayliss.

"I can't see any changes there personally. The two openers we had did very well and it would be difficult to go against them.

"We could bring Hales back in and drop one of those guys down, but then it would upset someone else.

"We've got to take a decision now and I just think the best way to go is with the two guys who have taken over."

Also returning to the squad will be pace bowler Mark Wood, who has recovered from a heel injury that kept him out of the series against West Indies and the Ashes series.

The five-match series will be played between 14th and 28th January.

England ODI squad:

Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

© Cricket World 2017