< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

England name unchanged ODI squad for West Indies tour

England are scheduled to play three-match ODI series in West Indies
England are scheduled to play three-match ODI series in West Indies

England selectors have named an unchanged 14-man squad for the upcoming three-match One-Day International series against West Indies.

After arriving in St. Kitts and Nevis on 22nd February, England will play two warm-up games on 25th and 27th February before the first game which is scheduled to be played on 3rd March in Antigua.

Eoin Morgan will continue to lead the squad that remains unchanged from the recent ODI series that lost 2-1 to India.

National selector James Whitaker emphasised on allowing the players gain proper exposure before the Champions Trophy which kicks-off in June and will be hosted by England and Wales.

“There is a huge emphasis on white ball cricket during the first half of 2017, as we continue our preparation ahead of this summer’s ICC Champions Trophy tournament in England.

“We felt it was important to keep faith with the squad that competed during the recent tour of India.

"The current group of players are making excellent progress under the captaincy of Eoin Morgan and head coach Trevor Bayliss and the tour of the Caribbean will enable the team to test themselves in different conditions against a competitive side in the West Indies.”

Meanwhile, Hales who sustained a fractured hand during the second ODI against India will continue his rehabilitation process.

The three-match ODI series will be played between 3rd and 9th March.

England squad for ODI series against West Indies:

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex, captain), Jos Buttler (Lancashire, vice captain), Jason Roy (Surrey), Sam Billings (Kent), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire), David Willey (Yorkshire), Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire)

© Cricket World 2017