< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

England name unchanged squad for second Test

Joe Root had a successful first Test as captain
Joe Root had a successful first Test as captain

England have retained the 12-man squad for the second Test against South Africa to be played in Nottingham between 14th and 18th July.

The decision comes after the hosts registered a 211-run victory in the first Test at Lord's to claim a 1-0 lead in the series following Moeen Ali's 10-wicket haul that wrapped the Proteas for 119 runs in the final innings.

Speedster Toby Roland-Jones has been retained in the squad after missing out on the selection for the first game.

The selectors have kept faith in opening batsman Keaton Jennings, who had scores of 8 and 33 in the two innings with Gary Ballance also managing to retain his position.

The other comeback man Liam Dawson also had a decent outing at Lord's picking four wickets in the game.

For South Africa, Faf du Plessis is set to take over the reins from Dean Elgar while Kagiso Rabada will sit out of the second Test after he was slammed with a one-match suspension for his aggressive send-off to Ben Stokes in the first innings of the Lord's game.

England squad for the second Test:

Joe Root (captain), Alastair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Gary Ballance, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Liam Dawson, Toby Roland-Jones, Stuart Broad, Mark Wood, Jimmy Anderson.

© Cricket World 2017