< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

England Recall Bresnan, Carberry

Michael Carberry
Michael Carberry has been recalled to England's ODI squad
©REUTERS / Action Images

Yorkshire all-rounder Tim Bresnan and Hampshire opening batsman Michael Carberry have been recalled to England's limited overs squads to play Sri Lanka.

Bresnan and Carberry feature in both the Twenty20 International and One-Day International squads ahead of the one-off T20 game and the first three ODIs.

With Stuart Broad absent due to his long-standing knee injury, Eoin Morgan will captain the side in the Twenty20 International on 20th May.

27-year-old left-arm seamer Harry Gurney and Carberry, 33, are the uncapped members of the Twenty20 squad, although both have international experience behind them.

Gurney made his ODI debut against Scotland in a game that was reduced to 24 overs per side while Carberry toured Australia this winter.

"Playing the World T20 Champions in front of a home crowd is a hugely exciting opportunity for this squad," National Selector James Whitaker said.

"With Stuart currently unavailable we have chosen Eoin to lead the side and I would like to wish him and the rest of the squad all the very best.

"We are entering an important period of 50-over cricket with a World Cup less than nine months away and this series against a skilful Sri Lankan side offers a chance to regain some momentum and for players to demonstrate the skill and passion we will need if we are to be serious contenders next year in Australia and New Zealand."

England Twenty20 International squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Jos Buttler, Michael Carberry, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Joe Root, James Tredwell, Chris Woakes

England One-Day International squad (first three matches): Alastair Cook (captain), James Anderson, Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Jos Buttler, Michael Carberry, Harry Gurney, Chris Jordan, Eoin Morgan, Joe Root, James Tredwell, Chris Woakes

© Cricket World 2014