England To Host Australia, South Africa, West Indies In 2012

England To Host Australia, South Africa, West Indies In 2012
England To Host Australia, South Africa, West Indies In 2012
©Action Images / Paul Childs

England's international opponents next summer will be Australia, Scotland, South Africa and the West Indies in an international season that will last from 17th May until 12th September.

The West Indies will be touring England in May and June, Australia play five One-Day Internationals in late June and early July, South Africa tour from July to September while England play Scotland in a solitary ODI on 12th August.

The England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have also confirmed that Cardiff's SWALEC Stadium will host the Friends Life t20 Finals Day for the first time.

The West Indies will begin the international summer with three Tests at Lord's Trent Bridge and Edgbaston before they play three ODIs and a Twenty20 International.

Australia's five-match ODI series - before which they play Ireland in Belfast - precedes the visit of South Africa, who play Tests at The Oval, Headingley and Lord's as well as five ODIs and three T20Is as both sides complete their buld-up to the 2012 ICC World Twenty20, which begins in September.

"With England looking to maintain its position as the number one side in the ICC’s World Test rankings and also preparing to defend the World T20 title in Sri Lanka next autumn, interest in next summer’s international programme will be intense," ECB Chief Executive David Collier said.

"A record number of people attended this season’s international fixtures and with an exciting summer in prospect again in 2012, we would urge spectators to buy tickets early in order to avoid disappointment."

West Indies in England

3rd-5th May - tour game v Sussex
10th-13th May - tour game v England Lions
17th-21st May - 1st Test, Lord's
25th-29th May - 2nd Test, Trent Bridge
2nd-3rd June - tour game v Leicestershire
7th-11th June - 3rd Test, Edgbaston
13th June - tour game v Middlesex
16th June - 1st ODI, The Rose Bowl
19th June - 2nd ODI, The Oval
22nd June - 3rd ODI, Headingley

Australia in England

21st June - tour game v Leicestershire
23rd June - ODI v Ireland, Belfast
26th June - tour game v Essex
29th June - 1st ODI, Lord's
1st July - 2nd ODI, The Oval
4th July - 3rd ODI, Edgbaston
7th July - 4th ODI, Durham Emirates ICG
10th July - 5th ODI, Old Trafford

South Africa in England

9th-10th July - tour game v Somerset
13th-15th July - tour game v Kent
19th-23rd July - 1st Test, The Oval
27th-28th July - tour game v Worcestershire
2nd-6th August - 2nd Test, Headingley
10th-11th August - tour game v Derbyshire
12th August - Scotland v England ODI
16th-20th August - 3rd Test, Lord's
22nd August - tour game v Gloucestershire
24th August - 1st ODI, Cardiff
28th August - 2nd ODI, The Rose Bowl
31st August - 3rd ODI, The Oval
2nd September - 4th ODI, Lord's
5th September - 5th ODI, Trent Bridge
8th September - 1st T20I, Durham Emirates ICG
10th September - 2nd T20I, Old Trafford
12th September - 3rd T20I, Edgbaston

© Cricket World 2011