England To Chase 250 As Ferguson Stars Again

England To Chase 250 As Ferguson Stars Again
England To Chase 250 As Ferguson Stars Again
©REUTERS/Philip Brown (BRITAIN SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Australia 249-8 (Ferguson 55, Johnson 43no, Wright 2-52) v
Second One-Day International, Lord's

If England are to level their seven-match ODI series against Australia, they will have to chase down 250 to win at Lord's - a similar task to the one they narrowly failed to complete at The Oval on Friday.

Having invited Australia to bat, England had a decent time of things in the field but a second half-century in as many games from Callum Ferguson and useful contributions before and after him enabled Australia to post a competitive score of 249 for eight.

The decision to bowl first, and to leave out Adil Rashid in favour of Eoin Morgan, were understandable given overcast conditions but Australia were quickly out of the blocks, Shane Watson (34) and Tim Paine (26) sharing a stand worth 62 for the first wicket before Watson was smartly held by Luke Wright as Bresnan got the first breakthrough.

Wright then struck with the ball to dismiss Paine and Michael Clarke (4) but he would travel later on, finishing with two for 52 from ten overs.

Cameron White played another solid innings, making 42 and combining well with Ferguson, who stroked 55 in 58 balls with five boundaries before he was bowled by James Anderson four balls into the batting Power Play.

Mike Hussey (8) and James Hopes (11) fell cheaply but the Power Play was not wasted thanks to some bold hitting from Mitchell Johnson, who finished unbeaten on 43 from 23 deliveries - a career-best for him and he will hope some confidence transfers to his bowling and although Brett Lee failed to score, Nathan Hauritz chipped in with ten not out to set England a testing target - no doubt it is not beyond them, but an improvement on Friday's effort is required.

Graeme Swann, charged with the spin duties in the absence of Rashid, did not disappoint, taking two for 31 with the wickets of Hussey and Hopes.

England's other change was Bresnan replacing Stuart Broad, who has a neck strain while Australia went in with an unchanged side.

England: Andrew Strauss (captain), Ravi Bopara, Matthew Prior, Owais Shah, Paul Collingwood, Eoin Morgan, Luke Wright, Graeme Swann, Tim Bresnan, James Anderson, Ryan Sidebottom

Australia: Shane Watson, Tim Paine, Cameron White, Michael Clarke (captain), Callum Ferguson, Michael Hussey, James Hopes, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Nathan Hauritz, Nathan Bracken

© Cricket World 2009