England U19 squad announced for summer tri-series

Hamidullah Qadri is among the 16 players named in the England U19 squad
Hamidullah Qadri is among the 16 players named in the England U19 squad

A squad of 16 has been selected for England U19’s tri-series against India U19 and Bangladesh U19 in July and August.

The squad, captained by Lancashire’s George Balderson, features players from 11 counties – all of whom will be available for selection for the ICC U19 World Cup in South Africa in early 2020.

Ten players return from the squad that travelled to Bangladesh in January, including Ben Charlesworth, who averaged 52 on the tour, and Derbyshire spinner Hamidullah Qadri, who was the leading wicket-taker with nine.

England U19 Head Coach Jon Lewis said: “We’re expecting a big test against India and Bangladesh this summer – two countries who are very strong at this level of cricket.

“We enjoyed a brilliant learning experience on tour to Bangladesh in the New Year, where our players were tested in some unfamiliar conditions, so it will be interesting to see if we can turn the tables on home soil.

“These fixtures are excellent for developing a player’s skills, experience and character – some of the best young cricketers from the three countries will be battling against each other and these ‘best versus best’ experiences are what we feel give the players the greatest opportunity for learning whilst on the international pathway.”


England U19 squad

  • George Balderson (Lancashire, captain)
  • Kasey Aldridge (Somerset)
  • Ben Charlesworth (Gloucestershire)
  • Tom Clark (Sussex)
  • Jordan Cox (Kent)
  • Blake Cullen (Middlesex)
  • Joey Evison (Nottinghamshire)
  • Lewis Goldsworthy (Somerset)
  • Jack Haynes (Worcestershire)
  • George Hill (Yorkshire)
  • Nick Kimber (Nottinghamshire)
  • Dominic Leech (Yorkshire)
  • Jack Morley (Lancashire)
  • Daniel Mousley (Warwickshire)
  • Hamidullah Qadri (Derbyshire)
  • James Taylor (Derbyshire)


England fixtures

21 July: England v India (Worcester)

22 July: England v Bangladesh (Worcester)

26 July: England v India (Cheltenham College)

28 July: England v Bangladesh (Cheltenham College)

1 August: England v Bangladesh (Billericay CC)

3 August: England v India (Chelmsford)

5 August: England v Bangladesh (Beckenham)

9 August: England v India (Beckenham)

11 August: Tri-series final (Hove)