England Unchanged, Sri Lanka Call For Cover

Kithruwan Vithanage (right) celebrates his maiden Test century against Bangladesh
Kithruwan Vithanage (right) celebrates his maiden Test century against Bangladesh
©REUTERS / Action Images

England have named an unchanged 12-man squad for the second Test against Sri Lanka, who have called up Kithruwan Vithanage to replace injured wicket-keeper Prasanna Jayawardene.

After a thrilling end to the first Test at Lord's, Sri Lanka hung on with one wicket remaining to draw.

The second and final Test begins on Thursday at the home of Yorkshire County Cricket Club, Headingley.

While England are unchanged - and may well go into the match with the same starting side - Sri Lanka will be forced to make at least one change.

Jayawardene has suffered a broken finger and although he bravely batted during his side's rearguard at Lord's, he will now return home.

Vithanage, a batsman with four Test appearances, six One-Day Internationals and a single Twenty20 International cap to his name, comes into the squad and will arrive in England tomorrow (17th June).

He scored his maiden Test century against Bangladesh in January and played in the Twenty20 International against England last month.

Either Kaushal Silva or Dinesh Chandimal are expected to keep wicket in Jayawardene's absence.

Silva scored a brace of half-centuries during the Lord's Test while Chandimal was left out although as Silva already opens the batting, Sri Lanka may decide against burdening him with the gloves as well.

Kumar Sangakkara, who has kept for Sri Lanka on 48 occasions, but not since 2008, would be another option - albeit an unlikely one - behind the stumps.

Warwickshire all-rounder Chris Woakes is the player in England's squad who was not selected at Lord's.

Fast bowlers Dhammika Prasad and Chanaka Welagedara, batsman Chandimal and all-rounder Dilruwan Perera are available to Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews and his coaching team as well as Vithanage should the tourists decide on more changes.

England: Alastair Cook (captain), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Stuart Broad, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Matthew Prior, Sam Robson, Joe Root, Chris Woakes

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (captain), Lahiru Thirimanne (vice-captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Shaminda Eranga, Rangana Herath, Mahela Jayawardene, Dimuth Karunaratne, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dilruwan Perera, Nuwan Pradeep, Dhammika Prasad, Kumar Sangakkara, Kaushal Silva, Kithruwan Vithanage, Chanaka Welagedara

© Cricket World 2014

Fixtures & Results

20th May: Twenty20 International, The Oval, London
Sri Lanka 183-7 (T Perera 49) beat
England 174-7 (Hales 66) by nine runs
22nd May: 1st ODI, The Kia Oval, London
England 247-6 (Ballance 64, Bell 50) beat
Sri Lanka 144 (Jordan 3-25) by 81 runs (D/L)
25th May: 2nd ODI, EDICG, Chester-le-Street
Sri Lanka 256-8 (Dilshan 88, Gurney 3-59) beat
England 99 (Senanayake 4-13) by 157 runs
28th May: 3rd ODI, Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester
England 73-0 (Bell 41no, Cook 30no) beat
Sri Lanka 67 (Jordan 5-29) by 10 wickets
31st May: 4th ODI, Lord's, London
Sri Lanka 300-9 (Sangakkara 112, Dilshan 71) beat
England 293-8 (Buttler 121) by seven runs
3rd June: 5th ODI, Edgbaston, Birmingham
Sri Lanka 222-4 (Thirimanne 60no) beat
England 219 (Cook 56) by six wickets
12th-16th June: 1st Test, Lord's, London
England 575-9 dec. & 267-8 dec. drew with
Sri Lanka 453 (Sangakkara 147) & 201-9
20th-24th June: 2nd Test, Headingley, Leeds
Sri Lanka 257 & 457 (Mathews 160) beat
England 365 & 249 (Moeen Ali 108no) by 100 runs