< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Eng v India 1st ODI: Bumrah, Shami, Sharma lead India rout of England

India registered a comprehensive 10-wicket win over England in the opening ODI of the three-match series to thereby take a 1-0 lead.

On Tuesday at The Oval, England was bowled out for a mere 110 in 25.2 overs and in response India chased down the target in just 18.4 overs.

Earlier, England after being asked to bat lost their top-order cheaply. The side was reduced to 26 for five. There was a brief resistance through a 27 run sixth wicket stand between captain Jos Buttler (30) and Moeen Ali. Later, David Willey (21) and Brydon Carse shared the biggest stand of the innings worth 35 runs for the ninth wicket. In the end England was finally bowled out for 110 in 25.2 overs. For India the best bowlers were Jasprit Bumrah (6-19) and Mohammed Shami (3-31). For England, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Ben Stokes and Liam Livingstone were dismissed for ducks.

The chase for India was quite simple as their old firm of openers Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan joined forces successfully. Sharma finished unbeaten on 76 off 58 balls with seven boundaries and five sixes. Dhawan was unbeaten on 31 off 54 balls with four boundaries. In the end India chased down the target in 18.4 overs to finish on 114 for no loss.

The second ODI will be played on Thursday at Lord's.

Match Summary
England: 110 (25.2)
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Jason Roy-1.4 ov), 2-6 (Joe Root-1.6 ov), 3-7 (Ben Stokes-2.4 ov), 4-17 (Jonny Bairstow-5.3 ov), 5-26 (Liam Livingstone-7.5 ov), 6-53 (Moeen Ali-13.5 ov), 7-59 (Jos Buttler-14.3 ov), 8-68 (Craig Overton-16.3 ov), 9-103 (Brydon Carse-23.2 ov), 10-110 (David Willey-25.2 ov)

India: 114-0 (18.4)


Result: India won by 10 wickets, lead series 1-0 

Playing XIs
England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wicket-keeper & captain), Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Craig Overton, David Willey, Brydon Carse, Reece Topley

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Prasidh Krishna

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to field
Venue: Kennington Oval, London
Start time: 1300 hrs UK Time
Match officials: Alex Wharf, Richard Illingworth (On-field Umpires); Richard Kettleborough (TV Umpire); Martin Saggers (Reserve Umpire); Chris Broad (Match-referee)