< >
Cricket Betting us

England vs New Zealand, 1st ODI: New Zealand trounce England by 8 wickets in Cardiff

New Zealand trounced England by 8 wickets at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff today, in the 1st ODI


England vs New Zealand, 1st ODI

England 291/6 (50 ov)

New Zealand 297/2 (45.4 ov)

New Zealand won by 8 wickets


Match Analysis

Devon Conway and Daryl Mitchell both struck unbeaten hundreds as New Zealand cruised to an eight-wicket win over England in the first one-day international in Cardiff on Friday.

The Black Caps, set 292 to win, finished on 297-2 with 26 balls remaining as they went 1-0 up in a four-match series.

Opening batsman Conway was 111 not out and Mitchell 118 not out, the pair sharing an unbroken third-wicket stand of 180 in New Zealand's first ODI against England since their agonising Super Over loss in the 2019 World Cup final at Lord's.

The teams will also face each other in the first match of the World Cup in Ahmedabad on October 5.

England's quicks were unable to make an early breakthrough but leg-spinner Adil Rashid struck with his first ball when he bowled Will Young to leave New Zealand 61-1 in the 11th over.

Rashid was briefly off the field for cramp, and although David Willey had Henry Nicholls caught behind, there was no slowing New Zealand's march to victory.

Mitchell greeted Rashid's return to the attack with a six and a four off successive deliveries, a powerful drive followed by a controlled dab through third man.

Left-hander Conway completed his fourth ODI hundred, off 115 balls including 13 fours.

Mitchell then hammered Rashid for 16 off three balls -- two sixes separated by a four -- as he went into the 90s.

In common with Conway, he scored his fourth ODI hundred and first against England at the first time of asking, facing just 84 balls -- including six fours and five sixes -- to reach the landmark.

Conway ended the match in style with a straight six off Liam Livingstone as New Zealand recorded their third successive white-ball win over England this tour after ending a Twenty20 series level at 2-2.   

- Buttler fires England -

Earlier, New Zealand held England to 291-6, with left-arm spinner Rachin Ravindra leading a disciplined attack with 3-48.

England captain Jos Buttler marked his 33rd birthday by top-scoring for his side with 72. 

Four England batsmen passed fifty but none of them overwhelmed New Zealand's bowlers.

Together with the returning Ben Stokes (52), Buttler shared a fourth-wicket stand of 88 after England lost the toss.

Livingstone's typically dashing 52 off 40 balls added late impetus after opener Dawid Malan made 54.

Harry Brook was given another chance to push his World Cup claims after being drafted in as opener alongside Dawid Malan following injuries to Jason Roy and Jonny Bairstow.

He was left out of the provisional squad for next month's title defence in India.

But it was Malan who dominated an opening stand of 80 before being bowled off his pads for 54 by Ravindra.

Brook fell for a subdued 25 in the next over when he gloved a Lockie Ferguson bouncer to New Zealand captain and wicketkeeper Tom Latham.

Buttler and Stokes consolidated, with England's limited-overs skipper completing a 48-ball fifty.

Stokes, in his first ODI since reversing his retirement from the format ahead of the World Cup, went to the landmark with a six over midwicket off Ravindra.

But the bowler had his revenge next ball, when Stokes slapped him to cover.

Livingstone holed out off Tim Southee's slower ball and the veteran seamer also dismissed Buttler.

The series continues at Southampton on Sunday.



England Fall of wickets: Fall of wickets: 1-80 (Dawid Malan - 14.6 ov), 2-80 (Harry Brook - 15.4 ov), 3-101 (Joe Root - 20.2 ov), 4-189 (Ben Stokes - 37.4 ov), 5-266 (Liam Livingstone - 47.2 ov), 6-267 (Jos Buttler - 47.4 ov)

South Africa Fall of wickets: 1-61 (Will Young - 10.1 ov), 2-117 (Henry Nicholls - 20.3 ov)


ENGLAND - Dawid Malan, Harry Brook, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler(WK/C), Liam Livingstone, Chris Woakes, David Willey, Gus Atkinson, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley

NEW ZEALAND - Devon Conway, Will Young, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham(WK/C), Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Kyle Jamieson, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson


Date - 2023-09-08 11:30:00

Venue - Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

Toss - New Zealand elected to bowl

Umpires - Alex Wharf (England), Paul Reiffel (Australia), Adrian Holdstock (South Africa TV)

© Cricket World 2023