England, Wales To Host 2019 Cricket World Cup

	England, Wales To Host 2019 Cricket World Cup
England, Wales To Host 2019 Cricket World Cup
©REUTERS / Action Images

The International Cricket Council (ICC) and England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have signed an agreement for England and Wales to host the 2019 World Cup.

The tournament will be held in June 2019 at 10 venues with 10 teams competing after the agreement was signed during meetings in Dubai.

"The signing of this agreement now enables ECB to enter into Staging Agreements with venues who wish to stage matches in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019," ECB Chief Executive David Collier.
"“The Organising Team from the ICC Champions Trophy 2013, led by Tournament Director Steve Elworthy, will commence the preparation work for this event immediately following the conclusion of the ICC Champions Trophy, which ends with the final at Edgbaston on June 23.
"The ECB is honoured to have been selected to stage one of the largest and most important global sports events which will be a wonderful boost to sport and cricket in particular throughout England and Wales."
ICC Chief Executive David Richardson added: "The ICC Cricket World Cup attracts a broadcast audience in excess of 1.5 billion people and is one of the premier events in world cricket.
"England and Wales boasts a number of high quality cricket venues providing players, officials and spectators with excellent facilities. We look forward to working with the ECB to deliver an outstanding tournament."

It will be the fifth World Cup hosted by England, after they hosted the first three editions in 1975, 1979 and 1983 - when one match was hosted in Wales - before hosting, along with Ireland, Scotland, and the Netherlands in 1999.

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.