England Women Name Provisional Squad For World T20

England Women Name Provisional Squad For World T20
England Women Name Provisional Squad For World T20
©Action Images / Carl Recine

The England selectors have named their provisional squad for the ICC Women’s Twenty20, which will be held alongside the men’s later this year.

The chairwoman of the ICC’s women’s cricket committee, Clare Connor, spoke of the importance of this arrangement with the men’s game continuing, and of the decline of Tests in the women’s game, saying, “The reality is that since the T20 format came into being in international cricket in 2004, there has barely been any Test cricket. That's because the T20 format gives us that platform. It's a shorter format, it's more likely to grow the game from a participation perspective and also from a commercial perspective. It gives us probably more opportunity to get on television, and I think that is the way the women's game is headed. That's the reality and we have got to embrace that, and we are, with more and more double headers."

The men’s event kicks off in Sri Lanka on 18th September, with the women’s event getting underway on 26th September. England’s first match is the following day against Pakistan Women in Galle. England's squad will be cut down to 14 players at a later date.

England Women Provisional squad: Charlotte Edwards (captain), Caroline Atkins, Tamsin Beaumont, Arran Brindle, Katherine Brunt, Holly Colvin, Deanna Cooper, Kate Cross, Jodie Dibble, Georgia Elwiss, Lydia Greenway, Jenny Gunn, Danielle Hazell, Amy Jones, Heather Knight, Beth Langston, Beth Macgregor, Alice Macleod, Laura Marsh, Natasha Miles, Beth Morgan, Fiona Morris, Sonia Odedra, Susie Rowe, Natalie Sciver, Helen Shipman, Anya Shrubsole, Sarah Taylor, Fran Wilson, Danielle Wyatt.

© Cricket World 2012




Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.

ICC WT20 Final Video