< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

England Women vs India Women, 1st ODI: Beaumont and Sciver give England a convincing win by 8 wickets

Tammy Beaumont (87*) and Natalie Sciver (74*) ensured a comfortable win by England Women in the run chase, at the Bristol County Ground, Bristol today, in the first ODI.


Match Summary England Women vs India Women, 1st ODI

England Women 202/2 (35 ov)

India Women 201/8 (50 ov)

Result – England Women won by 8 wickets





Fifties from Nat Sciver and Player of the Match Tammy Beaumont took England Women to a commanding eight-wicket win in the first Royal London International at Bristol.

It puts them 4-2 up in the multi-format series, after the LV= Insurance Test was drawn.

England's bowlers had done a fine job to restrict the visitors to 201-8 in the first innings, with Sophie Ecclestone taking 3-40.

Nat Sciver's run-a-ball 74 during England's chase saw her become the fastest woman to 2,000 ODI runs in terms of balls faced.

The second Royal London International takes place at the Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton, on Wednesday June 30.

Match Highlights

England Women won the toss and decided to field, and restricted India Women to 201/8 in their 50 overs.

Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Shafali Verma - 4.5 ov), 2-27 (Smriti Mandhana - 9.4 ov), 3-83 (Punam Raut - 25.2 ov), 4-84 (Harmanpreet Kaur - 27.2 ov), 5-149 (Deepti Sharma - 41.3 ov), 6-180 (Mithali Raj - 45.3 ov), 7-192 (Pooja Vastrakar - 47.2 ov), 8-197 (Taniya Bhatia - 48.4 ov)

In reply, England romped to a 8 wicket win in just 35 overs.

Fall of wickets: 1-24 (Lauren Winfield - 4.4 ov), 2-83 (Heather Knight - 15.5 ov)

Playing XIs


England Women - Lauren Winfield-Hill, Tammy Beaumont, Heather Knight(c), Natalie Sciver, Amy Jones(wk), Sophia Dunkley, Katherine Brunt, Sarah Glenn, Sophie Ecclestone, Anya Shrubsole, Kate Cross

India Women - Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Punam Raut, Mithali Raj(c), Harmanpreet Kaur, Deepti Sharma, Shikha Pandey, Jhulan Goswami, Taniya Bhatia(wk), Pooja Vastrakar, Ekta Bisht


Match Details

Start Time: 11:00

Toss: England Women won the toss and decided to field

Venue: The Bristol County Ground, Bristol

Officials: Sue Redfern, Graham Lloyd, Nigel Llong, Russell Warren, Wayne Noon





©Cricket World 2021