< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

England Women vs India Women, 2nd ODI: Harmanpreet Kaur guides India Women to series win

India's Harmanpreet Kaur and teammates celebrate winning the match
India's Harmanpreet Kaur and teammates celebrate winning the match

India Women beat England Women by 88 runs, in the 2nd ODI , at the County Ground Canterbury, today, to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series.

Match Summary

England Women vs India Women, 2nd ODI, India Women tour of England

England Women 245/10 (44.2 ov)

India Women 333/5 (50 ov)

Result - India Women won by 88 runs


Top Tournament Stats - England Women vs India Women

Top Batter (Runs Scored)

Top Bowler (Wickets taken)

Most Sixes

Match Report

Harmanpreet Kaur's 143 not out led India to a series win in the second Royal London International at Canterbury. 

After putting India into bat, England's bowlers kept things tight initially before Kaur, Harleen Doel (58) and Smriti Mandhana (40) took India to the very imposing total of 333-5.

It was always going to be tough for England to chase down such a big total, and while there were bright moments in the shape of Danni Wyatt (65), Alice Capsey (39) and Amy Jones (39) it proved too much for the hosts to overcome. They were bowled out for 245, unable to level the series. 

The two sides meet again at Lord's this Saturday for the series close, with two ICC Women's Championship points up for grabs.

Match Stats

India Women: Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Shafali Verma - 1.3 ov), 2-66 (Yastika Bhatia - 11.4 ov), 3-99 (Smriti Mandhana - 19.1 ov), 4-212 (Harleen Deol - 39.6 ov), 5-262 (Pooja Vastrakar - 45.6 ov)

England Women:Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Tammy Beaumont - 1.5 ov), 2-12 (Sophia Dunkley - 3.3 ov), 3-47 (Emma Lamb - 7.4 ov), 4-102 (Alice Capsey - 16.4 ov), 5-167 (Danielle Wyatt - 29.3 ov), 6-169 (Amy Jones - 30.3 ov), 7-182 (Sophie Ecclestone - 31.5 ov), 8-183 (Freya Kemp - 32.3 ov), 9-211 (Kate Cross - 37.6 ov), 10-245 (Charlie Dean - 44.2 ov)

Playing XIs

India Women: Yastika Bhatia (WK), Smriti Mandhana, Harleen Deol, Shafali Verma, Dayalan Hemalatha, Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Renuka Singh

England Women: Amy Jones (WK/C), Danielle Wyatt, Tammy Beaumont, Emma Lamb, Sophia Dunkley, Alice Capsey, Freya Kemp, Sophie Ecclestone, Kate Cross, Charlie Dean, Lauren Bell

Match Details:

Date: 09-21 12:00:00

Venue: St Lawrence Ground, Canterbury, Canterbury

Toss: England Women won the toss & elected to field

Officials: Umpires: Mike Burns (England), Anna Harris (England), Sue Redfern (England TV)

Match Referee: Phil Whitticase (England)

© Cricket World 2022