< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

England Women win final IT20 but Australia take Ashes series Trophy 12-4

Women’s Ashes - Third IT20 - England v Australia - Bristol County Ground, Bristol, Britain - July 31, 2019 Lauren Winfield of England in action

Australia has suffered a 17-run loss against England in the final match of the Women's Ashes in Bristol.

Match Summary

England Women 139 - 5

Australia Women 122 - 8

Result - England Women won by 17 runs

Despite the result, Australia will return home with the trophy thanks to a 12-4 points series win.

Needing to better England's 5-139 to finish the Ashes undefeated, Australia reached 24 before opener Beth Mooney (2) was dismissed by Katherine Brunt.

Captain Meg Lanning could only manage two before being dismissed, with opener Alyssa Healy (28) falling not long after at a crucial time for Australia. 

Ashleigh Gardner (0) also struggled to get going, but Ellyse Perry (60*) dug deep to anchor the innings.

Perry started running out of partners however as England's bowlers tightened the screws, sending the required run rate above 12 an over.

The total proved too much for Australia who fell 17 run short of victory, handing England its first win of the series.

Having won the toss and elected to field earlier in the day, Australia claimed two early wickets through Jess Jonassen (1-19) and Megan Schutt (1-27), but despite the wickets England got off to a fast start on the scoreboard.

Speedster Tayla Vlaeminck (1-9) then came into the attack and soon had her first wicket after a Natalie Sciver top edge landed safely in the hands of Delissa Kimmince,

Australia bowled well through the middle overs as the scoring slowed, resulting in the run out of England captain Heather Knight.

Spinner Ashleigh Gardner (1-16) struck to remove Amy Jones (19) two balls later, before Lauren Winfield (26*) and Brunt (25*) combined to add 54 runs at the death to take England to 5-139.

Match Details

England Women - Danni Wyatt, Tammy Beaumont, Natalie Sciver, Amy Jones(wk), Heather Knight(c), Lauren Winfield, Katherine Brunt, Mady Villiers, Anya Shrubsole, Sophie Ecclestone, Kate Cross

Australia Women - Alyssa Healy(wk), Beth Mooney, Meg Lanning(c), Ellyse Perry, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes, Jess Jonassen, Georgia Wareham, Delissa Kimmince, Megan Schutt, Tayla Vlaeminck

Start Time: 18:30

Toss: Australia Women won the toss and decided to field

Venue: The Bristol County Ground, Bristol

Officials: Alexander Wharf, Michael Burns, Sue Redfern, Wayne Noon

 ©Cricket World 2019