England World Cup Squad Announced

England have named their 15 man World Cup squad, with few surprises; the one change to the squad that many pundits predicted is that Ravi Bopara comes in in place of Mal Loye. Michael Vaughan returns as captain as injured players Kevin Pietersen, Jon Lewis and James Anderson are also picked. Speaking about the squad selection, David Graveney was in confident mood: He said: "The selectors were delighted with the team's outstanding performance in winning the Commonwealth Bank Series and we have retained the bulk of the squad who were in Australia for the World Cup. "This is a youthful squad with a number of highly promising players who made an excellent impression in Australia. "The challenge facing the team now is to build on those performances Down Under and peak at the right time in the Caribbean.'' Squad: Michael Vaughan (captain), Ed Joyce, Ravi Bopara, Ian Bell, Andrew Strauss, Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood, Andrew Flintoff, Paul Nixon (wicketkeeper), Jamie Dalrymple, Monty Panesar, Jon Lewis, James Anderson, Liam Plunkett, Sajid Mahmood.