< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Eoin Morgan among eight marquee players for new T20 competition in South Africa

Eoin Morgan is set to be part of another T20 league
Eoin Morgan is set to be part of another T20 league

Cricket South Africa has confirmed England skipper Eoin Morgan as one of the eight marquee players for their new domestic T20 competition to be played at the end of the year.

Morgan will join former England skipper Kevin Pietersen and his current team-mate Jason Roy in the competition.

West Indies trio Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo and Kevin Pietersen along with former Black Caps captain Brendon McCullum and Sri Lanka's Lasith Malinga form the remaining list of marquee players, who will be distributed to eight teams using a draft system.

The tournament is likely to run in conjunction with Bangladesh Premier League and the South African board revealed that 28th April will be the deadline for the interested parties to make their bid to own the teams.

“We are thrilled with the responses we are receiving from prospective team owners. No doubt this is a once in a lifetime opportunity for both bidder and city,” CSA CEO Haroon Lorgat said in a statement.

“While the level of private investment we expect will be new to South African sport, we are also very interested in the level of expertise that owners will bring to all levels of the game in South Africa.

“The eventual location of these franchises will be up to the bidders and the cities who see the opportunities to generate brand value and economic activity through the league".

© Cricket World 2017