Essex Name Their Squad For Twenty20 Finals Day

Essex Eagles have named a 14-man squad for Twenty20 Cup Finals Day at the Rose Bowl on Saturday. The Eagles take on Kent Spitfires in the first semi-final (11.30am) with the winners meeting the victorious side of the later match between Middlesex Crusaders and Durham Dynamos (3pm) in the Final (7.15pm). All-rounder Tim Phillips is back in the first-team squad for the first time since undergoing knee surgery in May. The slow left-arm bowler has spent the last few weeks playing for the Second Eleven during their Trophy and Championship campaigns. Alastair Cook has been made unavailable by the ECB while Neil Dexter is omitted as he is ineligible for the semi-final against his ‘mother’ county, Kent. Essex have no injury problems ahead of their trip to Southampton. Squad: Mark Pettini, Ravinder Bopara, Graham Napier, Grant Flower, James Foster, Ryan ten Doeschate, James Middlebrook, Tim Phillips, David Masters, Danish Kaneria, Maurice Chambers, Jason Gallian, Varun Chopra, Chris Wright © Essex CCC
Official Essex CCC Website