Evans Guides Bears To Maiden Twenty20 Win

Evans Guides Bears To Maiden Twenty20 Win
Evans Guides Bears To Maiden Twenty20 Win
©Action Images / Steven Paston

Warwickshire batsman Laurie Evans made the most of his move into the Bears’ middle-order with a fine innings of 68 not out from only 41 balls to hand his side their first victory in the Friends Life t20 at the fourth attempt.

The home side had started badly in pursuit of Northamptonshire’s total of 149 for four, slipping to 40 for three and 85 for four thanks, in part, to two wickets from Chaminda Vaas. However, Evans shared an unbroken fifth-wicket stand of 67 with Chris Woakes, who ended unbeaten on 23 from 15 balls, and they got home with an over to spare.

Cameron White had earlier starred for the Steelbacks with an unbeaten knock of 60 from only 39 balls. He shared an important third-wicket partnership of 62 with Niall O’Brien (38 from 43 balls) after Jeetan Patel had ended Rob Newton’s cameo at 31.

The result moves Warwickshire up to fourth place in the Midlands/West/Wales Group, with Northamptonshire slipping down to fifth.

Tomorrow’s FLt20 Fixtures: (start times in brackets, GMT)
There were due to be five group games tomorrow, but following the death of Tom Maynard yesterday, Surrey have postponed their match against Hampshire, while his former club Glamorgan have done likewise with theirs against Worcestershire.
North Group, Lancashire v Leicestershire at Old Trafford (1630)
Ajmal Shahzad continues to miss out for the home side after a scan revealed his stomach strain to be an intercostal injury. The Lightning have named a 14-man squad, which includes Jordan Clark, Oliver Newby and Simon Kerrigan in addition to the eleven which beat the Foxes in the reverse fixture on Friday.
Lancashire squad: Stephen Moore, Tom Smith, Steven Croft, Karl Brown, Paul Horton, Gareth Cross (wicket-keeper), Luke Proctor, Yasir Arafat, Glen Chapple (captain), Stephen Parry, Gary Keedy, Jordan Clark, Simon Kerrigan, Oliver Newby.

Wayne White will undergo a late fitness test for the Foxes after slipping in the outfield during the defeat to Yorkshire on Sunday. Meanwhile, Will Jefferson will begin his comeback from back injury with a second eleven game against Derbyshire today. The inclusion of Preston Mommsen, Nathan Buck or Nadeem Malik are just some of the changes Leicestershire could consider.
Possible Leicestershire XI: Josh Cobb, Greg Smith, Jacques du Toit, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Abdul Razzaq, Matt Boyce, Wayne White, Ned Eckerlsley (wicket-keeper), Robert Taylor, Claude Henderson, Matthew Hoggard (captain).

North Group, Derbyshire v Durham at Derby (1810)
Derbyshire were soundly beaten by Yorkshire on Monday night and may ponder team changes. One such change could be the inclusion of all-rounder Alex Hughes.
Possible Derbyshire XI: Wes Durston, Usman Khawaja, Ross Whiteley, Wayne Madsen (captain), Dan Redfern, Chesney Hughes, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Tom Poynton (wicket-keeper), David Wainwright, Tim Groenewald, Mark Turner.

The visitors will want to get their campaign back on track after a shoddy batting performance on Sunday led to a convincing defeat at the hands of the Outlaws. However, they have namewd an unchanged 14-man squad, with Mark Stoneman, Will Smith and Callum Thorp added to that eleven.
Durham squad: Phil Mustard (wicket-keeper), Herschelle Gibbs, Ben Stokes, Johann Myburgh, Dale Benkenstein (captain), Gordon Muchall, Scott Borthwick, Liam Plunkett, Chris Rushworth, Graham Onions, Mitchell Claydon, Will Smith, Calum Thorp, Mark Stoneman.

South Group, Essex v Kent at Chelmsford (1800)
The home side face the Spitfires in what will be the first of four matches in five days, and, with that in mid, have named an enlarged 14-man squad.
Essex squad: Mark Pettini, Tom Westley, Owais Shah, Greg Smith, James Franklin, Ryan ten Doeschate, James Foster (captain, wicket-keeper), Graham Napier, Tim Phillips, David Masters, Tymal Mills, Adam Wheater, Maurice Chambers, Reece Topley.

Kent, unbeaten thus far in the South Group, have named their 13-man squad for their trip to Chelmsford. The starting eleven is likely to be the same as that named for Sunday's win over Surrey, but Chris Piesley and Simon Cook will travel with the team.
Kent squad: Rob Key (captain), Sam Billings, Azhar Mahmood, Darren Stevens, Brendan Nash, Sam Northeast, Geraint Jones (wicket-keeper), James Tredwell, Matt Coles, Adam Ball, Mark Davies, Simon Cook, Chris Piesley.

Weather Forecast: A perfect English summer’s day is in store tomorrow, with wall-to-wall sunshine for England and temperatures peaking at a very agreeable 22 degrees Celsius. There is the remote possibility of catching a light shower, but, on the whole, the skies should be relatively free of cloud.

County News In Brief:
Kent chief executive Jamie Clifford has confirmed that talks with Geraint Jones, Darren Stevens and Ben Harmison, all of who are out of contract at the end of the season, are ongoing.

Lancashire coach Peter Moores has said that budgetary restraints mean that it is unlikely that the club will sign another overseas player for the remainder of this season’s Friends Life t20.

Derbyshire have served Worcestershire with the statutory 28-days notice of their intention to speak to seam bowler Richard Jones with a view to signing him for next season.

The Independent Police Complaints Commission (IPCC) has handed responsibility for investigating Tom Maynard’s death back to the Metropolitan Police. A statement, issued by the family through the British Transport Police, has thanked “everyone for the messages of support following Tom’s tragic death”.

© Cricket World 2012




Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.