< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Experienced players return for Sri Lanka World T20 campaign

Experienced players return for Sri Lanka World T20 campaign
Lasith Malinga will lead the Sri Lankan side in the Asia Cup and ICC World Cup T20.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Premier fast bowler Lasith Malinga and all-rounder Angelo Mathews have been named in the Sri Lankan squad for the Asia Cup and ICC World Twenty20 campaigns which are scheduled to be played in Bangladesh and India respectively.

Malinga last played for Sri Lanka in November 2015 during the T20I series against West Indies following which a knee injury had ruled him out of action for the New Zealand and India tours.

On the other hand, Mathews who missed the T20I series against India due to a groin strain has been declared fit as well. 

Apart from these two changes, the selectors have also added more experience to their bowling attack with the return of Rangana Herath and Nuwan Kulasekara while Shehan Jayasuriya was rewarded with a place after impressive performances for his domestic team Colts in the T20 tournament.

Dilhara Fernando, Seekuge Prasanna, Danushka Gunathilaka, Asela Gunaratne, Kasun Rajitha and Binura Fernando are the players left out from the squad that featured against India in the recently concluded T20I series which Sri Lanka went on to lose 2-1.

Malinga will take over the captaincy from Dinesh Chandimal while Mathews has been named as his deputy.

Sri Lanka are the reigning champions in the Asia Cup after they went on to defeat Pakistan in the finals of the 2014 edition.

The upcoming edition of the Asia Cup will be played in T20 format for the first time to allow the teams prepare for the ICC World T20 tournament which was also won by Sri Lanka in the previous edition in 2014.

Sri Lanka squad for Asia Cup and ICC World T20:

Lasith Malinga (captain), Angelo Mathews (vice captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Niroshan Dickwella, Shehan Jayasuriya, Milinda Siriwardana, Dasun Shanaka, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dushmantha Chameera, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Jeffrey Vandersay

© Cricket World 2016