Ferguson, Hussey, White Recalled For Pakistan Series

Ferguson, Hussey, White Recalled For Pakistan Series
Ferguson, Hussey, White Recalled For Pakistan Series
©REUTERS / Action Images

Australia have recalled Callum Ferguson and Daniel Christian for the One-Day International series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates in August and September.

Uncapped Victorian Glenn Maxwell is also included in both ODI and Twenty20 International squads as Michael Hussey returns.

With Shane Watson unavailable through injury, Ben Hilfenhaus not selected, and Brett Lee retired, the selectors have opted to use the ODI series to develop the team.

"The ODI squad has a strong development aspect to it. Shane Watson and Ben Hilfenhaus have not been included and Brett Lee has retired. This will provide development opportunities for others and allow Shane and Ben to complete a more thorough strength and conditioning program before embarking on a very demanding schedule," National Selector John Inverarity said.

"The team includes many talented young players; David Warner, Matthew Wade, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Steve Smith, and of particular interest Glenn Maxwell and Callum Ferguson.

"Glenn Maxwell is a relatively inexperienced player who debuted for Victoria in 50-over and T20 cricket in the 2009-10 season and in the Bupa Sheffield Shield the following season. He’s a versatile and lively off-spinning all-rounder and brilliant fieldsman that has caught the eye of the NSP. An injury last January somewhat halted his progress but in recent months he has impressed in the IPL and with Hampshire. Glenn will provide another spin bowler option on the slow, low, turning wickets in the UAE.
"Callum Ferguson played very well at times for the Australian ODI team in 2009 before a serious knee injury halted his progress at international level. The NSP is keen to facilitate Callum’s return to consistent good form and has included him in the squad and anticipates that he will benefit greatly from being in the team environment and any opportunities that may come his way."

Peter Forrest has been left out and will instead take his place batting at number three for the 'A' team in England.

Australia will name their final squad for the ICC World Twenty20 on 17th August and the squad for the series of three matches against Pakistan sees Brad Hogg included and Patrick Cummins expected to make a comeback from injury.

"The squad for the ICC World Twenty20 will be announced on 17 August and the squad for the three T20s against Pakistan in September provides a strong indicator to this tournament," Inverarity added.

"Of interest would be the three spinners in the squad. Brad Hogg, who played in the two KFC T20 Internationals in February against India and has since been performing very well in T20 cricket, Xavier Doherty and Glenn Maxwell form the trio.

"In Shane Watson, Dan Christian and Maxwell the squad will have three talented all-rounders who are well suited to the shortest format. Pat Cummins is expected to be fully fit for these fixtures and he, together with Hilfenhaus, Clint McKay and Mitchell Starc will provide the pace bowling options.

"Cameron White has recaptured some form in recent months. He scored particularly well in the IPL and with Northamptonshire in the County T20 competition. His experience and striking ability resulted in him winning favour with the NSP and shading Steve Smith for a place. Further, he will be able to provide invaluable support to George Bailey and Shane Watson, captain and vice-captain respectively.

"Michael Hussey’s return to the fold in both squads will be welcomed. His all-round batting skills, the outstanding manner in which he prepares, and his unrelenting quest for excellence will add greatly to the team dynamic.

"The conditions in the UAE will be very demanding. The pitches will be different and it will be extremely hot, necessitating ODIs beginning at 6pm and ending after 1am. The players will be able to add further to their kitbags of experiences.”

Australia ODI squad: Michael Clarke (captain), David Warner (vice-captain), George Bailey, Dan Christian, Xavier Doherty, Callum Ferguson, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, James Pattinson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade

Australia T20I squad: George Bailey (captain), Shane Watson (vice-captain), Dan Christian, Pat Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Ben Hilfenhaus, Brad Hogg, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Cameron White

© Cricket World 2012

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.