< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Few Changes In West Indies Squads

Chinelle Henry
Chinelle Henry is the only newcomer ahead of the matches against England and New Zealand
©West Indies Cricket

The West Indies have named largely settled squads for the upcoming Women's One-Day Internationals and Twenty20 International tri-series.

They host New Zealand for three ODIs on 6th, 8th and 10th October before the tri-series, which also involves England, runs from 14th to 26th October.

The 13-strong ODI squad features much of the squad that reached the final of the World Cup earlier this year, and continues to be led by Merissa Aguilleira, who has now captained since 2009.

Uncapped Jamaican batter Chinelle Henry is included in the Twenty20 squad and the 18-year-old is joined by the recalled Stacy-Ann King, who has already played 50 ODIs and 47 T20s for the West Indies.

"We believe we have a strong team which can challenge both New Zealand and England in the coming weeks, especially in our home conditions," coach Sherwin Campbell said.
"The nucleus of the squad has been together for some time. We are developing really well with a good mixture of young enthusiastic players and our reliable experienced world-class players. New Zealand have a young team as well, but we believe we can get the better of them here in Jamaica.”
"This is the first time we will be playing at Sabina Park and for us that is very exciting. This is the first time the Jamaicans will be seeing the team in action and will form a new fan base for us. We expect them to come out and support us."

Following the tri-series, West Indies will play England in three One-Day Internationals on 29th October, 1st November and 3rd November.

The squad for those matches will be named at a later date.

West Indies ODI squad: Merissa Aguilleira (captain), Shemaine Campbelle, Shanel Daley, Deandra Dottin, Kycia Knight, Kyshona Knight, Natasha McLean, Anisa Mohammed, Subrina Munroe, Shaquana Quintyne, Tremayne Smartt, Shakera Selman, Stafanie Taylor

West Indies T20I squad: Merissa Aguilleira (captain), Shemaine Campbelle, Shanel Daley, Deandra Dottin, Chinelle Henry, Stacy-Ann King, Kyshona Knight, Anisa Mohammed, Juliana Nero, Shaquana Quintyne, Shakera Selman, Tremayne Smartt, Stafanie Taylor

© Cricket World 2013