< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Floros and Cooper Claim Major Awards

©Queensland Cricket
©Queensland Cricket

Queensland Premier Cricket has congratulated two first-time winners of its peak playing awards for the 2019-20 cricket season.

Wynnum-Manly allrounder Jason Floros and Sandgate-Redcliffe batter Tess Cooper have provided their bayside clubs with reason to celebrate, taking out the Peter Burge Medal and Kath Smith Medal respectively.

Floros, a former Queensland Bulls and Brisbane Heat player, produced an outstanding all-round season, scoring centuries in all three formats on the way to a season aggregate of 943 runs at 72.50 as well as 39 wickets at 22.6.

Playing alongside his brothers Benji and Tim across the season, Floros claimed the Medal for the first time, as well as becoming Wynnum-Manly’s first winner since Ben Laughlin in 2005-06.

He finished on 51 points, four ahead of 2014-15 winner Scott Walter (University of Queensland) and Sandgate-Redcliffe allrounder Lloyd Aspin (41 pts).

There was a three-way tie on 39 points for evergreen Valley allrounder Andrew Gode, Ipswich/Logan allrounder Harry Wood and University of Queensland batsman Jack Clayton.

One point behind them was Gold Coast Dolphins allrounder Liam Hope-Shackley who hit five centuries for the Dolphins on the way to earning selection in the Queensland Academy of Sport 2nd XI for the first time. Gode, Wood and Clayton also appeared for the QAS in the Toyota 2nd XI competition during the season.

Cooper, who has played with the Konica Minolta Queensland Fire and WBBL Brisbane Heat, dominated with the bat as well as being captain of the Katherine Raymont Shield premiers.

The right-handed top order bat amassed 1025 runs at 51.25 from all one-day and T20 matches, including one century and nine half centuries.

She finished on 34 points, two points ahead of Gold Coast Dolphins allrounder Tara Wheeler who was a frequent match-winner for the one-day competition minor premiers, producing 522 runs at 37.29 as well as 19 wickets at 20.5.

Western Suburbs allrounder Meagan Dixon, who received the Mel Bulow Award for player of the T20 Final, finished in third spot after another solid summer, with 492 runs at 44.7 and 29 wickets at 17.4.

WBBL Heat star Grace Harris was part of a three-way tie for fourth spot. Harris slammed 811 runs at 81.10 for Wests, including three centuries and five half centuries. Alongside her was Papua New Guinea representative Brenda Tau, who hit a century and four half centuries for Ipswich/Logan, and rising Sandgate-Redcliffe star Georgia Voll.

Voll, originally from Toowoomba, scored 801 runs at 47.12 with two centuries and took 23 wickets at 20.3 on the way to making her Women’s National Cricket League debut for the Fire and winning player of the tournament at the National Under-18 titles.

Cooper’s triumph makes it the second Medal in as many seasons awarded to a Sandgate-Redcliffe player after Jemma Barsby claimed the honour in 2018-19.

There were also individual awards to the highly promising Blake Edwards (Wests) and Lilly Mills (Sandgate-Redcliffe) as the Most Improved players 21 years and under.

Edwards, who made his Bulls debut during the summer, received the Bob Spence Trophy while Mills, who made her WBBL debut for the title-winning WBBL Heat side this season, was awarded the Loretta Moore Trophy.

Edwards finished with the second most wickets in First Grade, taking 56 wickets at 14.80, with the paceman also taking out the bowling average award for the two-day competition, with 29 wickets at 10.69.

Edwards, who also played for the CA XI against the touring English Lions squad, produced an exceptional individual effort for Wests with a haul of 9-34 during a season that saw the club win the John McKnoulty Cup as One Day champions.

Sunshine Coast product Mills claimed the most wickets in the Katherine Raymont Shield , taking 32 wickets at 14.63, which also earnt her the best bowling average award.

Redlands Tigers Cricket Club curator Joshua Kemp was awarded the Sports Turf Association (STA) Groundsman Award for a second consecutive year as well as claiming the First Grade Wicket & Ground Award for 2019/20. The STA Most Improved Groundsman Award was awarded to South Brisbane curator Ben Johnston for his work at Fehlberg Park in Yeronga, which alongside Premier Cricket, hosted a Women's National Cricket Round in September.

Queensland Premier Cricket, 2019-20 Team of the Year

Max Bryant (Gold Coast)
Lachlan Pfeffer (WK) (Valley)
Jack Clayton (University of QLD)
Nathan McSweeney (Northern Suburbs)
Jason Floros © (Wynnum-Manly)
Liam Hope-Shackley (Gold Coast)
Harry Wood (Ipswich/Logan)
Lloyd Aspin (Sandgate-Redcliffe)
Paddy Dooley (Western Suburbs)
Sam Doggett (Ipswich/Logan)
Blake Edwards (Western Suburbs)
Scott Walter (University of QLD)

Katherine Raymont Shield, 2019-20 Team of the Year

Tess Cooper (c) (Sandgate-Redcliffe)
Grace Harris (Western Suburbs)
Georgia Voll (Sandgate-Redcliffe)
Laura Harris (University of QLD)
Brenda Tau (Ipswich/Logan)
Tara Wheeler (Gold Coast)
Meagan Dixon (Western Suburbs)
Jessica Bird (WK) (Wynnum-Manly/Redlands)
Lilly Mills (Sandgate-Redcliffe)
Delyse Laycock (Wynnum-Manly/Redlands)
Lauryn Anderson (University of QLD)
Ashleigh Sims (Western Suburbs)
Coach: Bruce Arrold (Sandgate-Redcliffe)

The Peter Burge Medal is named in honour of Peter Burge, widely regarded as Queensland's finest home-grown batsman. Burge enjoyed a 15-year Sheffield Shield career, scoring 7,627 runs at an average of 56.08, including 24 centuries, in 91 matches. He captained Queensland 29 times. He also played 42 Test matches for Australia, scoring 2,290 runs at 38.16, including four centuries.

The Kath Smith Medla is named in honour of Kath Smith, who played six Tests for Australia in the 1930s and was vice-captain of the Australian team that played the very first women's Test against England at the Brisbane Exhibition Ground in December 1934 and for the two subsequent Test matches played during January 1935 in Sydney and Melbourne.

She was also the vice-captain of the Australian team for the tour to England in 1937, again playing in the three Test matches played.

Official Cricket Australia Website