Former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly joins Cricket All Stars

Former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly joins cricket all stars
Both Ricky Ponting (left) and Sourav Ganguly (right) will be part of the All Stars League organized in USA.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly is the latest addition to the esteemed Cricket All Stars series scheduled to be played in the United States of America in November 2015.

The series will feature two teams, ‘Warne’s Warriors’ and ‘Sachin’s Blasters’, captained by legendary cricketers Shane Warne and Sachin Tendulkar respectively.

However, it is not yet certain in whose team Ganguly will feature.

The ‘Cricket All-Stars Series 2015’ will kick off in New York on 7th November, and will then move on to Houston on 11th November with the final game to be played in Los Angeles on 14th November.

All the matches will be played on specially prepared drop-in pitches at three baseball grounds; namely Citi Field (New York), Minute Maid (Houston) and Dodger Stadium (Los Angeles).

As well as the two skippers, the competition will feature 26 prominent cricketers from around the world, including the likes of Brian Lara, Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath and Ricky Ponting.

The tournament has received International Cricket Council approval with a significant portion of the revenue generated from the tournament going to the governing body to fund development of cricket in the United States.

Country-by-country list of players participating in the tournament

India: Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, VVS Laxman, Ajit Agarkar

Australia: Shane Warne, Ricky Ponting, Matthew Hayden, Glenn McGrath, Brad Haddin

South Africa: Jacques Kallis, Shaun Pollock, Lance Klusener, Jonty Rhodes, Allan Donald

England: Graeme Swann, Michael Vaughan

West Indies: Brian Lara, Courtney Walsh, Curtly Ambrose

Sri Lanka: Kumar Sangakkara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Mahela Jayawardene

Pakistan: Wasim Akram, Shoaib Akhtar, Saqlain Mushtaq, Moin Khan

© Cricket World 2015