Forrest And Wade Named In Australia ODI Squad

Forrest And Wade Named In Australia ODI Squad
Forrest And Wade Named In Australia ODI Squad
©REUTERS / Action Images

Australia have named their 14-man squad for the first three matches of the Commonwealth Bank One-Day International Series, leaving out wicket-keeper Brad Haddin and batsman Shaun Marsh.

Queensland's Peter Forrest and Victoria's Matthew Wade are poised to make their One-Day International debuts against either India or Sri Lanka in the first round of matches.

"We want a flying start to the Commonwealth Bank Series against India and Sri Lanka and as always, have selected a group we are confident can win while also keeping an eye on development for the future," national selector John Inverarity said.

"Peter Forrest, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade, Dan Christian and Clint McKay are in form and will have a chance to either prove or further prove themselves on the international stage.

"Brad Haddin has come off a heavy program of Test cricket – the workload for a wicketkeeper/batsman is rigourous and resting him for the start of the series will refresh him for coming international commitments while also giving us a chance to look at Matt Wade at this level.

"We have not at this stage named a vice-captain for the first three games with Brad resting and Shane Watson still unavailable while he completes his recovery from injury, and will assess that position when the squad assembles.

"Peter Forrest, in great form for Queensland and also for his KFC T20 Big Bash League side this summer, comes into the group but will remain available for the PM’s Xl game in Canberra this Friday, where he is vice-captain to Brad Haddin.

"Shaun Marsh is obviously disappointed with his own form in recent weeks and is out of the side but remains in our thinking for the future while he works at state level – as they say, class is permanent but form can be temporary.

"Brett Lee had a terrific Big Bash League and with Ryan Harris provides the squad with the experience at this level that will benefit the broader fast bowling group, while Xavier Doherty’s ability in this format speaks for itself.

"Mitch Marsh will be released from the squad for the first two ODIs to allow him to play in the BUPA Sheffield Shield match against Queensland as part of our planning for him to continue to benefit from long-form experience."

Australia ODI squad: Michael Clarke (captain), Daniel Christian, Xavier Doherty, Peter Forrest, Ryan Harris, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Brett Lee, Mitchell Marsh, Clint McKay, Ricky Ponting, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner

© Cricket World 2012