< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Four Changes In Sri Lanka ODI Squad

Thisara Perera and Chathuranga de Silva
Chathuranga de Silva (centre), pictured here with Thisara Perera, is included in the ODI squad
©REUTERS / Action Images

Sri Lanka have made four changes in naming a One-Day International squad for the first three matches in India next month.

Wicket-keeper Dinesh Chandimal, left-arm spinner Rangana Herath, fast bowler Lasith Malinga and batsman Lahiru Thirimanne have been left out.

Into the squad come left-arm spinner Chathuranga de Silva, wicket-keeper Niroshan Dickwella, fast bowler Lahiru Gamage and opening batsman Kusal Perera.

De Silva has played five ODIs and Perera 33 while Dickwella and Gamage are uncapped, although Dickwella has played three Tests.

Gamage has played 44 first-class and 33 one-day games and was called up as cover for Shaminda Eranga in Pakistan's Test squad earlier this year.

Sri Lanka agreed to tour India after the West Indies withdrew from India last week.

That meant India won a shortened ODI series 2-1 and Sri Lanka were last in action when they hosted Pakistan in August, when they came from behind to win 2-1.

Sri Lanka ODI squad: Angelo Mathews (captain), Chathuranga de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lahiru Gamage, Mahela Jayawardene, Nuwan Kulasekara, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera, Dhammika Prasad, Seekkuge Prasanna, Ashen Priyanjan, Suraj Randiv, Kumar Sangakkara, Upul Tharanga

© Cricket World 2014