Four Uncapped Players In West Indies Provisional Squad

Four Uncapped Players In West Indies Provisional Squad
Four Uncapped Players In West Indies Provisional Squad
©REUTERS / Action Images

The West Indies have named four players uncapped at One-Day International level in their 30-man provisional squad for the ICC Champions Trophy.

Left-hand batsman Jonathan Carter and left-arm quick Sheldon Cotterrell have yet to represent the West Indies in any format while batsman Nkrumah Bonner and pacer Shannon Gabriel have only played Twenty20 and Test cricket before.

Elsewhere, the squad has a familiar feel to it with the likes of Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels and Ramnaresh Sarwan lending their considerable experience alongside younger players such as Kieran Powell and Johnson Charles.

Players in the squad who have not featured in recent series include opener Adrian Barath, spinners Sulieman Benn and Nikita Miller as well as wicket-keeper Chadwick Walton.

The squad will be trimmed to 15 players at a later date ahead of the tournament which begins on 6th June.

West Indies provisional Champions Trophy squad: Adrian Barath, Sulieman Benn, Tino Best, Nkrumah Bonner, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Jonathan Carter, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cotterrell, Narsingh Deonarine, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Nikita Miller, Sunil Narine, Veerasammy Permaul, Kieron Pollard, Kieran Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Lendl Simmons, Devon Smith, Dwayne Smith, Devon Thomas, Chadwick Walton.

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


CT 2013 Fixtures

Fixtures & Results

6th June: India v South Africa, Cardiff
IND 331-7 beat RSA 305 by 26 runs: Report
7th June: Pakistan v West Indies, London
WIN 172-8 beat PAK 170 by 2 wickets: Report
8th June: England v Australia, Birmingham
ENG 269-6 beat AUS 221-9 by 48 runs: Report
9th June: New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Cardiff
NZL 139-9 beat SRI 138 by 1 wicket: Report
10th June: Pakistan v South Africa, Birmingham
RSA 234-9 beat PAK 167 by 67 runs: Report
11th June: India v West Indies, London
IND 236-2 beat WIN 233-9 by 8 wickets: Report
12th June: Australia v New Zealand, Birmingham
AUS 243-8 v NZL 51-2 - match abandoned: Report
13th June: England v Sri Lanka, The Oval
SRI 297-3 beat ENG 293-7 by 7 wickets: Report
15th June: India v Pakistan, Birmingham
IND 102-2 beat PAK 165 by 8 wickets: Report
16th June: England v New Zealand, Cardiff
ENG 169 beat NZL 159-8 by 10 runs: Report
17th June: Australia v Sri Lanka, London
SRI 253-8 beat AUS 233 by 20 runs: Report
19th June: Semi-Final, London
ENG 179-3 beat RSA 175 by 7 wickets: Report
20th June: Semi-Final, Cardiff
IND 182-2 beat SRI 181-8 by 8 wickets: Report
23rd June: Final, Birmingham
IND 129-7 beat ENG 124-8 by 5 runs: Report

Champions Trophy History

Previous Winners

1998: South Africa
2000: New Zealand
2002: India/Sri Lanka
2004: West Indies
2006: Australia
2009: Australia