Franklin, McKay And Ryder Return For New Zealand

Franklin, McKay And Ryder Return For New Zealand
Franklin, McKay And Ryder Return For New Zealand
©REUTERS / Action Images

New Zealand have included fit-again trio James Franklin, Andy McKay and Jesse Ryder in their 14-man One-Day International squad to take on South Africa.

The three-match series gets underway in Wellington on Saturday (25th February) and Ryder has also been added to the squad for the third and final Twenty20 International in Auckland on Wednesday (22nd February).

Dean Brownlie and Jacob Oram, who both played in the recent 3-0 series clean sweep over Zimbabwe, were unavailable due to injury while Tom Latham has been left out.

With Ross Taylor still out with injury, Brendon McCullum will lead the side.

"The squad has a talented mix of experienced internationals and proven performers from domestic cricket," National Selection Manager Kim Littlejohn said.

"We decided to leave Tom out of the side. We are a pleased with his first stint at international level but in terms of his overall development felt it was best for him to return to domestic cricket.  He remains in our thinking for the future.

"James has been in good touch during the current Twenty20 series while Jesse has been shown that he is ready for a return to top level cricket.

"Andy McKay bolsters the bowling attack and deserves his spot after putting in consistent performances across the summer."

New Zealand ODI squad: Brendon McCullum (captain), Michael Bates, Doug Bracewell, Andrew Ellis, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Nathan McCullum, Andrew McKay, Kyle Mills, Tarun Nethula, Rob Nicol, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Kane Williamson

© Cricket World 2012