Gambhir, Laxman, Sharma Back For New Zealand Tests

Fast bowler Ishant Sharma, along with batsmen Gautam Gambhir and VVS Laxman, has returned to India's Test squad ahead of their three-match series with New Zealand.

The trio missed the seven-wicket win over Australia in Bangalore - Gambhir and Sharma suffering knee injuries and Laxman unavailable due to a back complaint - but all three are named in a 15-man squad.

Murali Vijay scored his maiden Test century in Bangalore at the top of the order replacing Gambhir while Cheteshwar Pujara, who came into the side in place of Laxman, made a fluent 72 during the final day run-chase, which leaves the Indian selectors with some tough decisions to make ahead of the opening match in Ahmedabad from 4th November.

The second Test, in Hyderabad, begins on 12th November before the final match in Nagpur on 20th November.

The return to the squad of Gambhir, Laxman and Sharma means that Abhinav Mukund and Jaydev Unadkat are not included and the squad is the same as that which was named for the first Test against Australia in Mohali - which India went on to win by one wicket.

India Test squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag (vice-captain), Rahul Dravid, Gautam Gambhir, Zaheer Khan, VVS Laxman, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Cheteshwar Pujara, Suresh Raina, Ishant Sharma, Harhbajan Singh, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, Sachin Tendulkar, Murali Vijay

© Cricket World 2010